Tuscan White Bean “Burgers” with Pesto, Red Pepper Yogurt Sauce


Oh HI!

How are you?!

Can we please forget that you have not heard a peep out of me in like uhm a month??

Please tell me you didn’t give up on me, I mean I would have by now, but please tell me you haven’t!

My job is proving to suck up much more of time than I ever thought, it’s a little crazy.

But lest not dwell, I’d like to make up my absence with a fantublous recipe of my own design: Tuscan White Bean “Burgers”.

White bean burgers are all the rage this month, there were recipes for them in both Cooking Light (which I took most of my ideas from) AND Whole Living magazine, it was all I needed to get inspired.

Now this was my first go around with this and I had no idea what I was doing…I now know exactly what I would do differently but overall these came out fabulous! Incredibly satisfying and complex and oh yeah, super healthy!

What’s different?

1. The beans:

 I soaked a bag of white beans instead of using canned because I wanted to avoid the sodium. This yielded a much firmer burger, it resembled the consistence of falafel almost exactly. You could either a. cook the beans or b. use canned low sodium beans but keep in mind your mixture will be a LOT mushier than mine. I wouldn’t change this though, I kinda like the bite 😉

2. mayo vs. greek yogurt: I was really very silly, I bought plain greek yogurt, planned on using it, and then at the last second totally flaked and used mayonnaise with olive oil instead..it would have been better with the greek yogurt. Although it’s very good with the mayonnaise, it’s a little heavy.

3. The Herbs, the cheese & the seasoning!: I thought I had pesto, I really did..problem was, I didn’t. So I improvised and used a tube of fresh herbs.

 Have you seen this?! Genius idea I tell you! It was very good and fresh..but pesto would have been better! I used some nice salty reduced fat feta to top this and it was perfect. It wasn’t originally planned this way but hey, it worked well. Lastly I used the Wild Cheff’s Tuscan Sausage blend.

There is no substitute, I’m both sorry and not sorry for this.

 Just buy it and make yourself happy OK? OK, good I’m glad we had this talk.

Now on to the goods I promise!

Oh ok I lied just one, tiny last thing….

This makes a LOT of “burgers”…like….

 

A LOT! So please feel free to cut the recipe in half, I wont be offended I swear although I plan to freeze the rest of mine…obvi.

Tuscan White Bean “Burgers” with Pesto, Red Pepper Yogurt Sauce

Ingredients:

  • multigrain deli flats
  • reduced-fat feta
  • lettuce

Burgers

  • 1 bag of white beans (cannolini) soaked overnight and drained
  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4-1/3 cup ground rolled oats (use your discretion here)
  • 1/4 -1/2 cup of Wild Cheff Tuscan Sausage Blend (I went heavy on this one)
  • 4-6 tbs. water (use as needed)
  • 2 tsp. salt (I forgot this..it was much missed)

sauce

  • 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt
  • 2 roasted red peppers
  • 2-4 tbs. pesto (again, I’d go heavy on this but I’m a huge fan of pesto’s work)

Directions:

Start by putting half of your SOAKED (remember you need to either start this the night before or first thing in the AM like I did) beans into your food processor. If you do not own a food processor, I highly recommend mashing either canned or cooked beans, save yourself the trouble please.

Pulse the beans until small,

drizzling 1 tbs. of olive oil in towards the end as your pulsing.

*NOTE!

 If you have not ground your rolled oats do so BEFORE you pulse the beans….no reason to clean the whole food processor just for that.

Next add half of everything else.

 Your doing this in 2 batches so just half it, simple.

Add the ingredients and pulse, scrapping down the sides until it makes a ..well a paste I guess you would call it.

Now from this into patties and either, a. spray with olive oil and broil on low for about 10 minutes per side (or bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes flipping once) or

 

b. “fry” in a small amount of oil (I used grape seed), over medium heat about 3 minutes per side, until golden.

I actually cooked half in the oven at 400 to try it out, this worked but they needed a crust so I put them in the pan,

and then I did a few small ones in the pan and realized this worked better. If your watching calories like crazy, bake em.

Mmm, crust. 🙂

Now for the sauce! in your CLEAN food processor or blender, pulse the red peppers until smooth, then add the pesto and yogurt and pulse until well combined. This can be done ahead of time.

(Don’t forget, I’m a dumb butt (as my nephews would say) and made mine with mayo..don’t do this…or do see if I care, it was tasty just not so healthy)

Now assemble! I used these multi grain flats which were perfect! (please toast them lightly…just do it for me OK?)

Place 1 tbs. sauce on the bottom of the “bun”,

 next add your feta so it sticks (I didn’t do this cause it wasn’t aesthetically pleasing..duh)

Next add your burger,

then lettuce

 and the top.

 

Stare at your masterpiece.

(OK so it’s kind of ugly you say but I think it’s BEAUTIFUL!)

Get excited about it.

Eat it. Giggle at how healthy it is.

Thank me. No I’m kidding you don’t have to…unless you feel compelled of course.

Hey guys, thanks for sticking around (if you did) and I’ll try to be better about my posts. Promise.

-Love, Lindsey Lou Who

Author’s note: I was totally eating on these for lunch when I finished this post…the feta totally finishes it. These really are totally wicked awesome!

 

 

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuscan White Bean “Burgers” with Pesto, Red Pepper Yogurt Sauce

  1. Casey says:

    These look delicious, although I’m pretty sure I’d have to halve that recipe – that’s an aweful lot of burgers to eat 🙂

    And I bet Greek Yogurt would be awesome with it. I make a spinach/feta/stuffing mix burger and I top it with Greek yogurt and it is a great, flavorful topping!

    Glad to see you’re back, by the way!

  2. Yummmm these look great! I love the sauce topper too, such a fun twist on a “burger”!!

Leave a Reply

