Ham & Asparagus Frittata with Sharp Cheddar


Have you seen the strawberries lately?

No, even better, have you TASTED the strawberries lately?!

Boy, oh boy are they something! Sweet and a little tart but packed with flavor all the same!

Ok, ok so I’m trying to distract from the fact that I haven’t given you a single thing in past uhm, mygosh, has it been closer to 2 weeks than 1? Oh goodness, I’m sorry. I apologize from the bottom of my heart, really I do. I just hope you haven’t given up on my blog.

I promise to be better, I keep meaning to post pictures and then I get busy at work and forget…or busy having fun on my time off..either way.

For starts I’m going to give you a short, sweet (savory really) and basic post and then HOPEFULLY get home, load the pictures on camera, figure out what exactly I took pictures of myself making, and then give you some more, betterer posts.

Yes I said betterer.

Any-who, moving along, I found myself with some leftovers this weekend and what do we do with leftovers? Make frittatas of course!

I found the real secret to a good frittata is to use REALLY GOOD, organic eggs. Wow what a difference! The frittata was VERY sunny yellow, light, fluffy, just awesome, and the combination of ham and asparagus with some nice sharp cheddar? Oh man, oh man! It’s enough to make me want breakfast for dinner every night. 🙂

Ham and Asparagus Frittata with Sharp Cheddar Cheese

(makes 2 9 in. pie pans)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups diced ham (I used a leftover daisy ham more on that later)
  • 1 1/2 cups of fresh asparagus diced
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 12 organic eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbs. butter
  • 2-3 tbs. flour
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • salt & pepper
  • cooking spray

Directions:

Start by heating a medium non stick pan over medium heat.

Add the butter, melt, and then add the ham cooking, tossing occasionally about 3 minutes.

Add the onions and asparagus and toss occasionally until slightly tender, about 8 minutes.

Turn off the heat and toss in the garlic, letting it cook just slightly.

If your impatient, put this mixture onto a shallow plate and put in the freezer to cool. DO NOT add a hot mixture to eggs! Curdling is bad.

Once the ham and vegetable mixture has cooled, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray 2 pie plates with cooking spray.

Add the flour to a large bowl and whisk in the water, now crack in the eggs and whisk, adding salt and pepper until well combined.

Whisk in 1 cup of cheese and then the COOLED ham and vegetable mixture.

Pour the mixture into the pie plates and top with the remaining cheese. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until cooked through.

*TIP! make this in muffin tins, decreasing baking time to about 10-15 minutes or until set. You can freeze these and thaw them and heat them for a quick breakfast or lunch on the go! Or, cut wedges and freeze them.

I served our dinner with some of those delicious season ripe strawberries and 2 slices of whole wheat bread. It doesn’t seem like breakfast for dinner, it’s more like …egg pizza!

Now go raid your fridge, pull out your random bits of left over cheese and vegetables and meat if you’ve got it and make yourself a frittata dude!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

