Give Pea Soup a Chance


Why does Pea Soup have such a bad wrap?

Was is The Exorcist? Did that ruin for everyone?

is it the color?

I mean I get it an all but have you every actually had pea soup?

Taste it’s vast complexity? It’s smoky, salty sweetness? It’s velvety texture?

No?

Well here is my challenge to you; give pea soup a chance!

I very happily inherited the leftover ham bone from the Easter spiral ham.

WE love spiral ham in this house. LOVE it.

It just so happens, that the bone from the spiral ham, with quite a bit of ham left on it, makes the most perfectest pea soup ever.

Yes, I perfectest.

It takes something good and brings it right over the top, adding the smoky meaty texture you just can’t get with a smoked ham hock! Yes my friends it’s a sight to behold…or a taste to uhm, taste.

So if you find yourself about to throw away a perfectly good ham bone, STOP! Close the lid to the trash can, yes close it. Good. Now walk away, put it in a pot, add some peas and make soup…and don’t watch The Exorcist….it’ll turn you off pea soup for a while.

Lindsey Leftover Ham Bone Pea Soup

Ingredients:

(sorry no pictures of the making, i assembled this on my lunch break home from work!)

  • 1 LARGE ham bone with ham meat attached
  • 2 bags of peas (rinsed and picked over for forgein objects)
  • 3 medium potatoes (peeled and chopped)
  • 8 medium carrots (peeled and chopped)
  • 4 medium onions
  • 6 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 10 cups of low sodium chicken stock
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups of white wine (anything you like to drink will work but stay away from the REALLY sweet stuff, no moscato please)
  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary
  • 1 tbs. french herb blend

Directions:

Heat a LARGE stock pot over medium high heat, adding the oil and vegetables (minus garlic and peas) in order and sautéing about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the peas and garlic and stir.

Now add the wine, ham bone, stock (reserving 2 cups) and herbs.

Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to low so the soup is just simmering.

LEAVE IT ALONE for a good 3 or 4 hours…longer if you feel like it. It should look like this after you give it a stir;

The vegetables should be soft, the ham should have completely falling off the bone (like so)

and the peas dissolved…like so;

Remove the bay leaves and discard. Remove the ham bone and the large chunks of meat and set them aside on a cutting board, discarding the bone and any fat.

We’ll deal with the ham in a minute 😉

Now here is where if you have an immersion blender and want to make me jealous and show off, you would use said immersion blender and keep everything neat and tidy.

I myself, do not own an immersion blender but I DO own one of these;

If you’re like me, your gunna want to break out your blender or food processor…your going to need it.

You can either strain the chunks of veggies and ham (yes there will be some left!) with a slotted spoon, adding some of the reserved chicken stock as you go, OR you can laddel it all into the blender (after adding the last 2 cups of chicken stock) IN batches and transfer the blended, smooth creamy soup into a waiting, LARGE bowl…this makes an awful lot of soup. I freeze a 3/4 of mine.

I did a combination of these things, leaving a few little chunks but blending most if it.

Just BE CAREFUL! Do NOT fill your blender to the top. Hot mixtures expand and then you will end up with exploded pea soup all over you and you will look like the priest after Linda Blair spews green pea soup all over him. Sorry, too much?

ANY-who, once you have blended away and made your soup velvety, chop up the ham and garnish no top of the bowls.

Serve alongside some crusty bread and marvel that you have been to chicken to try pea soup before…you hambone! ahah….ahahahahahahha! Ha! HA!

Seriously though, have I ever steered you wrong before? If something isn’t great, don’t I man up and tell you? I admit my mistakes, I’m good about that right?

So if pea soup wasn’t one of the most complex velvety heart dishes out there, I would tell you. If it wasn’t worth getting over the color I would tell you. I would!

Now go, go use your ham bone, get over your fear and cross it off your list.

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Give Pea Soup a Chance

  1. innovativephotographyservices says:

    mmmmmmmmm, pea soup is AMAZING. We would have it a lot when we were little!

Leave a Reply

