The “Smoked Dinner”


Matt has a smoking problem.

Ok so it’s not really a problem, it’s quite a fantastic and delicious little obsession.

What am I talking about? Smoking meats on the grill of course!

We have this grill called the Bubba grill. It’s really quite genius actually. There is no direct heat because…well you’ll just have to following this link and check it out for yourself, I’m far to busy and important (HAH!) to explain it to you right now.

Well, it was just our luck that a buddy of ours took a trip to Alaska a few months ago.

He had salmon, we had a smoker; match made in heaven.

I’m not going to get into the logistics of smoking right now, it’s far too, well, involved and I’ve got about 4 posts to get to you today. Basically, it involves rubbing the salmon in sea salt and brown sugar and letting it cure (this is called something but I can’t remember, something with a P) and then rinsing it off and smoking it for a few hours.

I also, as luck would have it, had an eye of the round roast that needed to be cooked. I figured, why not rub it in garlic and salt and pepper and smoke that too! That took several MORE hours but still, it was worth it.

Now, served along side this epic smoky meal, we had asparagus bundles wrapped in bacon with anchovies (we used paste this time but we usually use a fillet), and fresh rosemary, roasted to perfection. These little beauties are part of my death row meal, do not let the anchovies deter you, it’d be a shame!

Here is the recipe, by Mr. Jamie Oliver ( I LOVE that guy by the way (strictly in a food way) and I envy his garden)

To top the whole mess off, I made some horseradish and roasted garlic mashed potatoes. Instead of getting crazy with a recipe, simply do the following:

cut off the top part of a head of garlic so the cloves are exposed (I was too busy drinking wine to take pictures of this, sorryc…no I’m not hahahaha!)

Rub a little salt and olive oil over the top, wrap the whole head loosely in foil and roast at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and soft. Let cool and squeeze the entire head and the now soft, garlic cloves. They are sweet and also VERY good smeared on a piece of bread..nother story for another day.

Boil up some chunked yellow potatoes, skin on and then add to your mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (you can just mash them but I think they come out better this way). Add some cream or milk, salt, pepper, butter (I used like 5 tbs. but that’s another story), some Chobani 0% or sour cream (about 1/3 cup), your roasted garlic mush and about 2 tbs. of prepared horseradish. Mix, spoon, serve, and swoon.

All and all I’d say top 20 meals. 

 

 EVER.

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “Smoked Dinner”

  1. Kate says:

    That salmon looks pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

