Pantry Chicken Stir Fry Over Quinoa


Ok, Ok so maybe we should call it “kitchen stock stir fry” but somehow, it just dosen’t have the same ring to it does it?

I call this “Pantry” Chicken Stir Fry because this is one of those go-to meals that I make where I always have all of the ingredients stocked in my kitchen, no grocery shopping required.

This is fast, healthy and delicious. You know, I’m funny about chicken stir fry, because I know it’s always there, always just waiting to be made, I ignore it, it’s really quite rude of me. And yet, whenever I do make it, usually out of desperation, I inevitably find myself saying, “you know, I should make this more often!”

Everything I need is either in my freezer – in fact, most of it is – or in my pantry or fridge. I always have chicken and bag of both Szechuan frozen veggies and Peking stir fry veggies. I like to have a mix of both because they have different things.

Sometimes, if I’m lucky, I have cans of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts and the little baby corn that Tom Hanks nibbles in the movie “Big” (anyone, anyone? Buller?)

and I combine that with a few things from my fridge (soy sauce and such)

and throw it atop a bed of fluffy quinoa cooked in chicken broth (stay with me I’ll get to the quinoa later) and I’ve got stir fry heaven.

I realize my jar says “red quinoa”..I’m not perfect ok?

Like, duh!

What is so great about this that you can put in anything you like to suite your taste. These are just MY personal favs.

Pantry Chicken Stir Fry over Quinoa

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken breast, trimmed and cut into chunks
  • 1 bag frozen stir fry mix of your choosing (I like 1/2 of each type)
  • 1/2 bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 can of baby corn (optional)
  • 1 small can of bamboo shoots (optional)
  • 1 small can of sliced water chestnuts (optional)
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 2 cups of chicken broth (low sodium, organic)
  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup  + 2 tbs. of low sodium soy sauce
  •  4-6 tbs. sesame oil
  • 1 tbs. canola oil
  • 2 tbs. stir fry sauce (optional)

Directions:

Trim your chicken and cut into bite sized pieces.

I’d like to point out that this is was the last of my chicken from Adam’s Farm (there will be a post about that later)

 
Oh and uhm, check out the price (which I paid less than that because I bought it in bulk.
 
 
Sorry, I just had to brag for a minute, moving on!
 
Next, get your quinoa ready. Add 2 cups of chicken broth + 2 tbs. of soy sauce to a small sauce pan (Note: our stir fry outweighed our finished quinoa so make more if you want a nice big fluffy bed of quinoa..I mean, who doesn’t?)
 
 
Next, bring it to a boil, add your quinoa, cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.
 
How do I know how to do all of this you ask??
 
 
I’m not a complete goose here people! I have my shining moments!
 
Next heat a LARGE skillet over medium high heat…the whole point of stir fry is to cut food up small so it cooks fast in a hot pan. Just thought you should know that. That is education tid bit for the day. It was a fuel conservation technique so I’m told.
 
Toss a little soy sauce and sesame oil and your chicken while it waits for you. and open your cans of veggies and drain the liquid.
 
Next, mince the garlic and set it aside.
 
When the pan is heated, add about 1 tbs. each, sesame oil and canola oil and add the chicken.
 
Cook for about 3 minutes, tossing occasionally and then add your frozen veggies (both the mix(s) and the broccoli florets)
 
Make sure the heat returns to high and continue to cook, adding the rest of the soy sauce, sesame oil and stir fry sauce, until tender, about 6-10 minutes, tossing occasionally. A minute before it’s done, add the garlic and toss.
By now your quinoa should be done. It should look like this:
 
Nice and fluffy. Yes I said fluffy.
 
I love quinoa for stir fry because it’s good for you, packed with fiber and protein and it goes oh so well with it. Natch.
 Your stir fry, when done, should look something like this:
 
 
you then proceeded with assembly;
 
Add 2 big spoonfuls (such exact measurements) of quinoa to your favorite bowl.
 
Mmm.
 

 
Mmmm! Quinoa…so fluffy 🙂
 
Sorry, I was having a moment.
 
Next, top your fluffy quinoa with 2 big spoonfuls (my precision amazes you does it not?) of your stir fry.
 
 
let it stop producing copious amounts of steam, then mix all around and enjoy.
 
 

 
It’s ok, no really you can thank me later…when your mouth isn’t full (so rude!)
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

