Potato & Turkey Sausage Frittata


Do you ever have one of those days when you have NO idea what to make for dinner??

But then, you find inspiration from a friend??

Well that’s exactly what happened to me yesterday! I’m so lucky I have blog buddies aren’t I? 🙂

If you made it all the way through my post yesterday (why did you do that to yourself??) you will know I wasn’t sure what I was making for dinner. I usually stand in front of my fridge, then my freezer, and finally my pantry until a veritably genius idea hits me. But yesterday, this just wasn’t necessary.

My original idea for dinner was to use the leftover red and green bell peppers I had, some turkey sausage I had in the freezer (because I have on less than 3 packages of it, I like to stock up!) and make Turkey Sausage Cacciatorie (which I can never spell and just had to google. I always spell it way wrong when I write it on our white board menu, something along the lines of “chatchatory” and Matt always makes fun of me. I’m such a bad Italian I am!) but then Matt had almost the same thing at work the other day so I didn’t think he’d want more’ sausage pasta’.

SO, after I wrote my blog, I headed on over my blog buddy CookinFanatic’s page and what to my wondering eye would appear, but a frittata of course! She made a frittata for dinner because she’s smart like that, and as I was listing off all my favorite frittata combinations in her comment section, a little lightbulb went off over my head.

We had turkey sausage (check), we had a few potatoes and onions (check), and we ALWAYS have eggs (double check!)! KEY CHORUS! I’ll make a frittata for dinner! DUH!

I do love frittatas if not for any other reason than they are simply perfect for leftovers. You can throw just about anything in a frittata and you have a yummy meal. I texted Matt to pretty, pretty puh-leazzz take out some sausage from the freezer when he woke up and I was ready to roll when I got home!

I will encourage you to make any type of frittata you darn well please to but this one is such a sumptuous combo, maybe you ought to make it first hmm?

We started with a very simple version of Matt’s homefries; cut up potatoes, onions and butter (which I promise you I monitored) and some garlic cooked in a cast iron skillet (because that simply the only way to do them properly) until nice and crispy and yummy. Next was some cut up turkey italian sausage, you could use hot if you prefer but I’m a whimp. I also added some Chobani 0% plain greek yogurt to the mix which was a wonderful creamy addition and the corn chips?! Well we were munching on a few while we waited for out dinner to cook, I was telling Matt about this recipe for fried chicken tacos, on The Pioneer Woman’s website, and Matt suggested we fry up some corn tortillas and top the frittatas with them. I pointed out that is essentially what corn chips are (really the only chip I like, I’m not a potato chip fan) and I crushed some up and put them on one of the frittatas. Ohhh MAN what a good addition! That’s optional though…although I suggest it…but you don’t have to!…it’s just an idea OK?! Shesh!

Potato & Turkey Sausage Frittata

(makes 2 round 9in” frittatas)

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium red bliss potatoes (you can use any potato this is what we had on hand)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbs. butter
  • canola oil
  • 1 lb turkey italian sausage (hot or sweet depending on your taste)
  • 1 bag (2 cups) of shredded cheese (ours was a mexican blend but you can shred your own, any type you like!)
  • 2 large spoonfuls (4 tbs?) Chobani Plain 0%
  • 1-2 tbs. smoked paprika
  • 2 tbs. flour
  • 1 dozen eggs
  • salt & pepper
  • crushed corn chips (optional)

Directions:

  • start with the homefries: cut potatoes into chunks, and chop onion and garlic, set aside.
  • Heat a medium cast iron skillet over medium/low heat (I’d say about 4 out of 10) and add 2 tbs. butter (I had no control over this but you can use canola oil instead.) and just a dab of canola oil.
  • When the pan is heated, add the potatoes and cook until brown and crispy on the outside and almost fork tender, about 10-15 minutes (depending on how thick you cut the chunks and how hard the potatoes) stirring occasionally (you want the potatoes to get a crust on them so don’t panick if they get a little brown people!)
  • About 5 minutes before the potatoes are done (still a little hard in the middle), add the onions and garlic and some salt and pepper and saute until the onions are slightly brown and soft, about 5-10 minutes.

  • Remove from the pan and LET COOL! Don’t go adding hot ingredients to your egg least you start the egg cooking process prematurely. I put the potatoes in the fridge for a few minutes.

  • NOW, it’s time for sausage! Cut up your sausage into bite sized pieces, about 6 pieces per sausage.
  • Get the pan back on the stove (yes the same one you used for potatoes, yes I know there is stuff stuck in the bottom but trust me for a second OK?!), heat it over medium/HIGH heat this time and add just a small amount of canola oil.
  • Add the sausage and saute until cooked through (very important for turkey sausage), stirring occasionally, about 10 minutes.

  • Transfer to a bowl and LET COOL! I put these in the freezer to cool because I’m impatient like that.
  • Now it’s time to assemble the frittata. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. crack all of your eggs (all 12) into a large bowl and whisk to combine until it’s a pale yellow. sprinkle in the flour and a little bit of water and whisk some more.
  • Add in your cheese (reserving about 1/2 cup for the top!), Chobani, smoked paprika and salt and pepper and whisky to combine.
  • Now, CAREFULLY add in your cooled potatoes and sausage and toss with a large spatula.
  • Spray 2 9″ pie plates with cooking spray and divide the mixture evenly between them. Top with cheese and, if your feeling daring (please, please be feeling daring!), top them with crushed up corn chips. It’s worth it.

Note that we have his and hers pie plates. Isn’t that funny?! I didn’t mean to do that either.

This is Matt’s (not really it didn’t matter) without corn chips:

and mine (because it’s pink) with corn chips:

  • Now bake until the middle is no longer jiggly, and the entire thing is cooked through, ours cook about 30 minutes give or take a few minutes.

  • Slice and serve alongside a babygreen salad (I dressed mine with a honey, apple cider vinegar and grape seed dressing, matt with his mustard, olive oil and lemon dressing) and dig in!

This obviously left us with a lot of leftovers (haha left-us with left-overs. hehe 🙂 ) but it was such a hearty and comforting meal! The smoked paprika is to-die-for! The sausage is a little sweet with all of these wonderful spices and the crunchy and soft potatoes and onions balanced well with the slight tang and creaminess of the Chobani and the cheese. Just perfect. 🙂

Might I make a suggestion for a few other fritttatas? Some of my favorites:

  • egg-white frittata with sautĂ©ed baby spinach, garlic, onions and low-fat feta
  • roasted asparagus with shaved parmesan cheese
  • sautĂ©ed or roasted, diced zucchini, summer squash, red and green bell peppers, onions, carrots and mushrooms with either parmesan or feta cheese
  • my Thyme and Mushroom Omelette in frittata form!

Whatever way you make them frittatas are like a gift, a gift from the leftovers Gods (if there are any). Make them, love them, enjoy them and eat them for lunch like me.  🙂

TRAINING & FOOD JOURNAL

TRAINING: uhm no sorry. I had every intention of getting up to workout this AM but with is SNOWING and me going to bed later than I intended, that didn’t happen. I have to fit one in tomorrow before work though!

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: 1 slice of light oatmeal bread with 2 tbs. Teddy’s Peanut Butter and 1 low-fat Horizon chocolate milk (I am officially OUT of homemade granola. This is a tragic day. I will be making more on Sunday, it’s critical)
  • LUNCH: leftover frittata and 6 oz. Bolthouse Farm’s berry smoothie
  • DINNER: oh no not again! (I didn’t plan this week obviously) but I’m sure I’ll come up with something good. I’ll get ’em next week!
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Potato & Turkey Sausage Frittata

  1. This looks like the perfect dinner for me, since I think eggs are best eaten in the evening. No eggs for breakfast for me!

    • Haha I’ve never quite heard that but I will say I’ve been eating eggs for dinner (and lunch) for years! I’m not sure about all Italian families but ours ate them often for dinner. I think people simply do not eat enough eggs in the evening. We are big fans of “breakfast” for dinner in our house too ..although we are big fans of breakfast ANY time of day for that matter. haha
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. sonia says:

    The dish is looking great….. !

  3. I love the combo of flavors here, adding smoked paprika is such a great idea and the corn chips on top is seriously so creative! So glad you had a wonderful dinner and thanks for the awesome shout out 🙂 Happy friday girlllllll!

    • Haha your welcome! I am in love with smoked paprika, it’s my new obsession. (P.S. I’m going to be getting some of that smoked sea salt from THe Wild Cheff next weekend, in a few different varietes and I can’t wait to play with them!) The cornchips were very much a spontanious thing but wow did they make a big difference. Soo yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

