Lemon Berry Chobani Muffins


Happy Monday everyone!

Oh, you don’t like Monday’s either? Well nevermind then.

To give you a quick update, Saturday I met my dearest of dear friends and new running partner, Jackie for a run. We attempted to run the Rail Trial but immediately found it still snowy and muddy so we ran on the road in the frigid weather.

What is with the weather by the way? We had that lovely little teaser of Spring and now, BOOM! Wickedly plunged back into the winter bitterness. Mother Nature is mocking us. Clearly she’s in a pissy mood.

Perhaps if she had had herself one of these yummy and healthy Lemon Berry Chobani Muffins she would be seeing things in a lot sunnier of perspectives.

I had a container of Lemon Chobani in my fridge and an awful lot of time to play with yesterday. I brought the dog for a brisk walk, started a rather large and ambitious pot of Lentils and then decided to make the best use of my time by cooking something else. Muffins I decided, but healthy ones. Why not start with Chobani??

I took to the internet, the Chobani website to be exact, and stumbled across this little gem; Honey Scented Blueberry Muffins. Sweet!

Well, now I didn’t have Chobani Honey and I had no blueberries (sadly) but I was really just looking for a basic recipe. Found. I love lemon and berries together, just absolutely adore them. That flavor combo is probably better suited for a more delicate, white flour recipe, the slightly mealy, nutty taste of the whole wheat flour is a bit harsh but these were still good! Matt ate 2 upon waking wich I consider a success.

I will warn you, as I was mixing the ingredients together I had major cause for alarm. The ingredients barely mix, it seems far too dry to be allowed but I plugged on. I did notice that a “cup” of Chobani Lemon is only 6oz…thats 2oz less than a cup so I put in some extra regular Cho 0% and added some lemon zest. I also found some little golden nuggets of mango goodness in my freezer on my wasted hunt for frozen blueberries and I topped off half of them with a piece, kinda like a cherry on top. I wish I had done it to all of them.

Overall these were yummy, probably would have been better with my Wyman’s Wild Blueberries but no matter, they were scrumptious just the same. Oh and as for the fear of the raw mixture? Needless! They came out puffy and tender. 🙂

Lemon Berry Chobani Muffins

(Adapted from Honey Scented Blueberry Muffins, changes noted)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C whole-wheat flour, plus 1 Tbsp flour reserved
  • 1/2 C all purpose flour
  • 1/2 C granulated sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp iodized salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 1 tsp cinnamon
  • + 1/2 tsp Chinese Five Spice (without pepper)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp real vanilla extract
  • 1 C Honey Lemon 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt
  • 1 C blueberries, fresh or frozen Frozen mixed berries, mostly blackberries
  • +frozen mango pieces
  • +zest from 1 lemon

Preparation

Position a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat oven to 375°F. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and baking soda, salt, nutmeg (five spice) and cinnamon.

In another bowl, whisk together egg, vegetable oil, vanilla (lemon zest) and Chobani.

In a small bowl toss the blueberries (berries) with reserved flour until lightly coated, add to egg mixture. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture, using a spatula fold ingredients together just until dry ingredients are moistened. Be careful to not over mix the batter, as it will cause the batter to be slightly stiff and not smooth.

Line muffin pans with paper muffin cups I just put them in the tin sans paper, spray lightly with non-stick spray. Fill muffin cups half way, (fill empty cups 1/2 way with water!) (top with mango slice) and place in oven. Bake at 375°F for 8-12 minutes until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean. (or until they spring back at you)

Ta-Dah! Very nice here dude. I was going to make little frittata cups with asparagus and cheese for a healthy breakfast that I could throw in the freezer..and then I remembered I didn’t have any vegetables that I really wanted to make into a frittata so I gave up and made these instead. I’m sure glad I did! I plan on freezing the rest so they are there waiting to make me feel happy and “springlike” some other day.

TRAINING & FOOD JOURNAL

TRAINING: (To Be Done) Week 3 of Couch to 5K + upper body weights and such.

I must say I’m not looking forward to this in the least for 2 reasons; 1. it’s freezing out making it all the harder on my asthmatic lungs and 2. my calves are STILL killing me! I’t very seriously hindering my running and I’m very frustrated. My lovely neighbor said I could use her hot tub to help try and loosen my poor muscles but MAN do they hurt! It’s not going to be easy and it may mean and elliptical trip instead.

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: 1/2 cup homemade granola with 1/2 cup low-fat milk (I’m out of Almond Milk darnit!)
  • LUNCH: 1 1/2 cups home-made Lentils from yesterday (very filling) and 6oz Bolthouse Farms Berry (Smoothie?)
  • DINNER: uhm…uhm I’m not sure. One thing I do know is I must end my nightly desserts. I must cut the dysfunctional relationship off as it’s well, dysfunction and only proving to set me back in the goals I have made for myself. How much easier it would be to run if I wasn’t carrying around the extra 15lbs I am. “Dear Dessert, I’m sorry but I must end our abusive relationship..it’s for the best.”
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Berry Chobani Muffins

  1. RavieNomNoms says:

    Those look awesome, great job!

Leave a Reply

