2 Part Post: Part II Butternut Squash Triangoli with Apple Chicken Sausage


Did you know that in China, they have no daylight savings?? My friend Kevin who lives there told me this. I’m now very seriously thinking about moving there because daylight savings in killing me!

Some years are worse than others. This year is the worst on record for me personally as far as I can see. I’m so tired I can’t think straight and I could care less about anything other than sleep. So I’ve NO clue whats for dinner tonight but last night’s dinner of Butternut Squash Triangoli with Apple Chicken Sausage? Oh man, what a treat.

It’s very rare that I allow the combining of fruits into my main dinner dishes but last night I made an acception. As many of you probably already know, apple goes VERY well with the already sweet butternut squash. Add in some delicate and savory chicken sausage and you’ve got recipe gold my friends!

Saturday, Matt and I took a nice hike out in western MA with my friend Sarah and her dog Irie. Maybelle and Irie are so darn cute together. Irie is a blue tick hound and shepard mix (?). She’s got long legs and a very ethereal, strong grace to her with her black head and blue tick markings. Maybelle, well she’s a blue tick beagle. So essentially, she looks very much like a mini-me version of Irie and as far as she is concerned Irie is the be all, end all coolest dog ever. This meant that our little short-legged beagle ran herself ragged following in Irie’s long footsteps, crash landing in the snow often but pleased as punch about it. She slept for 2 days after.

After our hike we made our little pilgrimage over to Whole Foods and tried something new, a stop at Trader Joe’s. Whole Foods is sometimes overwhelming for me and Saturday after a hike battling my way through snow and not feeling great and with the place completely packed, this was very much the case. I was no help what so ever in Matt’s attempts to find dinner.

We then decided to stop at Trader Joe’s which is one plaza over in Hadley, MA. After nearly getting out of my car to beat some jerk who stole my parking place senseless (I had my blinker on. It was a busy parking lot. He got the horn and the nastiest “die evil jerk-off die!” Look I could muster…we parked one lot over), we sauntered in.

Trader Joe’s really is cooler than I give it credit for being. Matt found some “bangers” or Irish sausage he wanted for breakfast and after whining a little (I was feeling more and more nauseated) I agreed to make a decision over dinner and grabbed some butternut squash ravioli, marched over to where Matt was picking out bangers, shot down his suggestion at some kind of tomato and spinach sausage rather bluntly, and grabbed some chicken apple sausage, some cream and headed for the check out.

I would also like to give a little round of applause for the employees at Trader Joe’s. While standing in line Matt asked me to go grab a box of Irish tea and when an employee heard this, he pulled himself to a halt and said “What do you need? I’ll get it for you!” and our clerk came and retrieved us from another line because he was open. Say what you want about Western Mass people but they are awful polite!

Anyway we made it back in time to change our shirts and scoot across the street to our neighbors’ house. We really do have the best neighbors. She had texted me that morning “corned beef at 2pm if you guys are interested.” to which Matt said “Ooo!” Corn beef, alas, is probably the ONLY food that you will ever get an excited reaction out of Matt over. By the time we got home it was 3:30pm but she told us to come on over.

We then proceeded to stuff ourselves with corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, bread and butter, carrots and the most delicious french onion tarts ever. All washed down with some pistachio bars/pudding whatever you want to call it. I was honestly wondering if I would make it over there without vomiting but somehow, a swig of Pepto-Bismol beforehand and the smell of corned beef revived me. I was one happy full chick.

Looonngggg story right? Yeah, sorry about that. The moral is we didn’t eat dinner Saturday night. I ate more dessert  that I couldn’t resist at Whole Foods but we still had out our sausages (plural) to eat.

Sunday morning, as I had been up at the crack of dawn with the dog that morning (the night before, around 9pm when Matt asked the dog if she wanted to go out (she always does before bed) she promptly jumped off the couch, shot ‘a look’ at Matt and wabbled into her bed. Pretty definitive.) I sat on the couch while Matt presented me with this:

His version of an Irish Breakfast (as we had no black or white “pudding” and no tomatoes). Broiled bangers (sausage), sourdough toast, an egg and his fabulous home fries, all washed down with some very strong Irish Breakfast tea. Heavenly.

So I was in charge of dinner which was, yes very heavy (I accidentally added too much cream) but crazy simple.!

Butternut Squash Triangoli with Apple Chicken Sausage

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Trader Joe’s Butternut Squash Triangoli
  • 1 package Trader Joe’s Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage minus 1 Sausage (there were too many)
  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • splash of dry white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup of whipping cream (I accidentally used too much)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/3-1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese (optional)
  • Chinese 5 Spice (just a light sprinkling for garnish!)

Directions:

Cook the triangoli according to package directions, MINUS 1 minute. Drain and set aside

Meanwhile, Heat a medium skillet over medium/high heat.

slice the sausage diagonally into about 6 or 7 pieces per sausage.

Add butter to the pan and swirl to melt and coat. Add sausage and saute, tossing often until starting to turn brown, about 3-4 minutes.

Add the triangoli and saute as well, tossing to cook evenly about 3 minutes.

Add the splash of wine than the cream and continue cooking until the sauce deduces and becomes somewhat thick, about 3-5 minutes.

Remove from heat, toss in the parmesan cheese gently. Plate and sprinkle very sparingly with the Chinese 5 Spice or Pie Spice. Serve immediately.

This hit the nail on the head if I don’t brag just a little! 😉 I was hoping this would all work well,  already knowing that they worked well in theory but this really was stupendous but VERY rich. I had to give my last few bites to Matt.

You can certainly substitute another butternut ravioli and another apple chicken sausage but someone these were both just seasoned so perfectly they were a match made in heaven!

The warm creamy squash with the sweet and savory delicate sausage finished with the cream sauce, nutty cheese and the POW! of the spice, this hit all of the right notes so to speak.

Tonight? No clue. I can’t even get out of my own way so maybe Matt will be in charge. On a VERY exciting note a new coil for our oven is on its way to the house as speak so I will be able to use it again! Woohoo! Until then, it’s got to be broiled, grilled, boiled ,steamed or sauted. I’m sure I’ll think of something.

Training & Food Journal:

TRAINING: I can barely walk straight I’m so tired…if I attempted a workout I probably wouldn’t be the only one to sustain and injury!

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: my Banana Split smoothie (with peanut butter, a banana, frozen strawberries, almond milk, yogurt, ground flax seed, chocolate protein powder and a powdered multi vitamin)
  • LUNCH: Old Fashioned Oats with skim milk, banana chips, walnuts and a swirl of pure maple syrup…I forgot the cinnamon! 😦  and a baggie full of raw veggies. This is new for me. I’ve never attempted this before so we will see how it goes!
  • SNACK: a graham cracker with Teddy’s Peanut Butter (if I find I need it)
  • DINNER: ? Not a clue and yet, somehow, I’m OK with that.

 

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 Part Post: Part II Butternut Squash Triangoli with Apple Chicken Sausage

  1. Trader Joe’s employees are the absolute BEST.

Leave a Reply

