2 Part Post: Part I Run Training


Yes my friends, today you get 2 for the price of 1! Cha-Ching!

If you haven’t noticed or check it out yet, I have updated my goal tab! Yes I have somewhat narrowed down the 5Ks. Very exciting and terrifying stuff.

SO, with my first 5K only a few months away I knew I needed to kick my own butt into high gear which means, run training must start soon!

This morning. Not a chance in H-E double hockey sticks that was happening. It is my Facebook status and I will say it again, daylight saving is the BAIN of my existence!

Not only did I essentially loss a precious hour of Sunday time yesterday but I’m seemingly up an extra hour early this whole week (at least I’m wagering it will take at least a week to adjust). What does this mean? Well it means that my already horrid 4:15am wake up on Thursday morning, will feel like 3:15am!

It also meant that my poor body was so confused, I was up WAY past my bedtime last night, despite getting very little sleep all weekend and was up very, very early. Lindsey on little or no sleep is an ugly sight. I cannot handle it. This meant no workout this morning and that I’m so darn tired if someone is to look at me wrong today I may just burst into tears. Like I said, ugly. I will be passing out come hell or high water tonight at 7pm on the dot..or earlier if at all possible.

Why do I tell you all of this, long rant that it is? Because I’m making excuses for not starting run training this week. BUT, that’s not to say I’m not prepared.

Yesterday I took a trip to Wally World (Wal-Mart) with the intent of equipping myself for said training. I was a woman on a mission!

I came home with the following:

  • Long, fitted moisture wicking run pants
  • moisture wicking jacket
  • new capris work-out pants
  • fabulously fashionable reflective vest
  • headlamp
  • new sports bar (sorry for this any men that are reading)
  • the cheapest digital stop watch I could find
  • no pull hair elastics

Let’s break down the importance of each item shall we?

1. Long, Fitted Moisture Wicking Pants

On a hike with my oldest and dearest friend Sarah on Saturday afternoon, we got on the subject of Under Armour and moisture wicking fabrics and their importance. I have inherited one of Matt’s very nice cold weather Under Armour shirts and we were discussing how the moisture wicking is awesome because it keeps you dry so you don’t get cold in, well in the cold and you don’t overheat and get all drippy in the summer.

I concluded not only did I need more of this but I was going to swallow my fear over wearing tight long pants as a girl with rather large legs and get a pair of warm pants for when my run training starts (5am isn’t exactly broad daylight afterall). It’s barley warming up as it is and 5am is even colder. So, being cheap and refusing to spend $50 some odd dollars on the expensive stuff, I found these. For $11 you can’t go wrong! Got to keep those legs warm!

2. Moisture Wicking Jacket

Again, the importance of moisture wicking fabric in the cold. I did not own such a jacket and needing to keep both warm, but well ventilated shall we say. This thing fit the bill perfectly. Plus it’s nice and soft on the inside but has lots of nice places to ventilated AND, get this, it has thumb holes! Gah! Totally had no idea when I bought it (I didn’t try anything on until I got home) but I was convinced it was meant to be when I saw this. I’m in love. Also, $13. Score!

3. Capris Work-Out Pants

I did the unthinkable and actually bought the correct size for these. I tend to stay far, far away from anything that is tight but for workout clothes, you kind of NEED that. I found this out the hard way when I bought large spandex-ie pants and during a Body Attack class spent the whole time holding them up for dear life. It’s one thing standing around in such pants, but during a workout, they need to stay put!

So these are tight but yet fit exactly right. They stay put and cover everything. success. These are for when it warms up at bit. I believe these were around $10 and also, moisture wicking of course! 😉

4. Fabulously Fashionable Reflective Vest

Now we get into the nitty-gritty of the “equipment.” This thing is ugly of course BUT it’s got reflective strips in the front AND back and it’s mesh so its light weight and it breaths. Plus at just over $7 it was a good investment for my safety. I will afterall be running in the wee hours of the morning when it’s very dark and on roads that aren’t exactly straight and high-visability. I wanted to make sure people could see me no matter where they are coming from. Mission accomplished!

5. Headlamp

Again, early, early morning right now means NO light. I might as well be running at night. SO, in order to be able to see, I needed a headlamp to light the way. This was my most expensive purchase at around $24. I toyed with the idea of getting a much cheaper one but I really need to be able to see (they weren’t as bright). This was the best Wal-Mart had and I wasn’t about to make a trip to REI or other such place just for this.

I put this on and headed into the bathroom (no windows) and shut the door. It’s pretty darn bright I’ll give it that. However, my head is so peanut sized (I wear children’s hats. It’s ridiculous) that I’ll have to wear a hat and then put the lamp on over it. Such is life.

6. New Sports Bra

(men go right ahead and skip this whole thing)

So I’ll keep this brief for everyone’s sake. No female can run without good support. I found these sports bras at Wal-Mart about a year ago and they are wonderful. I’m not the biggest chests of girls BUT that’s not to say I take these things lightly.

The thing that makes these particular bras so great is that they have a legitimate cup. This one was a little more advanced with an adjustable strap (but you still have to put it on over your head so really, whats the point?) but its fabulous. Plus at just over $10 (I think it was maybe $14?) It’s such a great deal.

7. Cheap Digital Watch

There is positively NO reason to spend money on a fancy smanshy digital watch for running. It’s going to get gross, it’s going to get wet and beat-up, so don’t bother spending money on one!

For $9.88 I got a watch with rubber straps, a backlight and stop watch that reads me not only the time but the date and day of the week, has a cool multi colored number readout, is suitable for showering (and presumably running in a torrential downpour) and waterproof up to 100 feet! Do I have plans at all to wear this 100 feet down in the depths of the ocean? No. But it’s nice to know I could. Also, I swear I didn’t orchestrate taking this picture at exactly 12:30pm (and that was the time as I had just set it), it was just fait..or something.

8. No Pull Hair Elastics

I don’t know if you have seen me lately (or ever), but my hair is LONG. Like scary long. I cannot keep up with it as I’m far too lazy and cheap to get my hair cut as often as I should.

Therefore, it takes about 3 or 4 elastics to hold the entire weight of my hair out of my face and up in a bun on top of my head whenever I workout. I should do something about this I know, but there is nothing I hate more than having so much as a single piece of hair in my face during a workout. It causes me to get highly distracted and irritable and lash out violently at it.

No pull is key. I’ve got the hair of a 5-year-old. It’s very, very fine and delicate and if I go placing metal clasps in it and then yanking them out, we are going to have serious problems! Plus I am constantly “breaking” these (they pull where they are glued together and aren’t really stretchy anymore) and my cat’s like to steal them. Therefore, I’m constantly buying them. I should buy stock in this company.

So, there you have it, I am now fully equipped for my runs. I wanted to show you that you CAN do something like this cheaply yet effectively. Don’t spend hundreds of dollars on stuff like this unless of course you run ALL THE TIME and are so inclined. In that case, it’s your money, do with it what you may. I just happen to be cheap.

I put my entire outfit on, headlamp teetering on my head, and sauntered down the cellar stairs where Matt was hard at work cutting trim for our windows and stood posing waiting for him to notice me. I thought this was quite funny. When he finally did turn towards me I said in the most obnoxious voice I could manage “hey, wanna go for a run?” and then burst out laughing. His response? “You want to?” in all seriousness.

I’m not sure what to do with that kid.

 

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in TRAINING. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

