Lindsey’s First Ever CURRY!


Guess what I did last night? Aside from slave over a meal for my sick dog. I swear she gets more like an actual child everyday with me required to make her meals of plain white rice with organic gluten-free chicken stock and boiled chicken.

Yes Besides that I attempted my first. ever. curry. No joke.

Why was this my first? Well, like Matt I held silly reservations of our house clothes and selves smelling of B.O. I still have yet to identify WHICH spice causes this smell, I always assumed it was curry.

Well I have learned over the past year or so that curry can really consist of almost anything. You can have sweet curries, vegetarian curries, even melt your EYEBALL type curries! (Watch Man Vs. Food on the Travel Channel much?)

I work with a man who moved here from Indian when he was 30 I think? and I have been grilling him about curries for the last 2 months. Every time I have lunch at the same time as him he gets 20 questions;  “what do you put in curry?”, “Yes but what vegetables?”, “What spices? Do you always gram masala??” He’s very illusive but he essentially said anything goes. Fine.

So here I was, positively addicted to the smell of the Wild Cheff Curry Blend which I took after being inspired by this recipe for 5 Ingredient Coconut Curry Chicken from CookinFanatic. I NEEDED to make a curry but I wanted to start out simple. So I dove in last night.

I left her recipe mostly intacked and it was in fact, so very easy that I had more or less memorized it. I sent Matt on a hunt across the internet for it and he came up empty handed (Stephanie he would like me to tell you that your blog froze his ancient lap top. Jeez how dare you! 😉 ) so I winged it.

What changes did I make? Instead of the curry she used, I of course used my Wild Cheff Blend. I was cautious and didn’t use very much of it but ended up adding more at the end with a little gram masala as well. I also had neglected to use the salt and pepper so had to add it in later. When we first tasted it we found it very bland. I had used everything sparingly. As soon as we added the salt everything POPPED! I honestly just forgot the red pepper flakes but that’s ok.

I was most fascinated with the coconut milk. I should have taken a picture. I had both lite and original coconut milk and I ended up using the original. When I opened the can I found not an almond milk type liquid I had been expecting, but a thick, whipped looking..well it looked like coolwhip! lol UNDERNEATH I found a clear, mild and sweet liquid. I didn’t use the whole can because I’m a baby but Matt, upon tasting it was fascinated and convinced if you added the clear liquid to some very strong bold coffee, you would have something amazing. I’ll take his word for it.

He saved the liquid.

The biggest pain was I used 4 whole chicken legs and they were very hot and hard to pick..because, well again, I’m a big baby really. The dog was going nuts though and she ended up with little scraps I deemed unsuitable in her “breakfast rice” this morning. Spoiled.

Overall I deem it a success! It was delicious and not nearly as scary as I had anticipated and my house smelled AMAZING when I was done…not like B.O. as I had feared but sweet and spicy, and coconutty and well, delicious!

Thanks Steph for the idea and I can now say I made my first curry, and it was totally wicked awesome! 😀

5 ingredient Coconut Chicken Curry

(adapted from CookinFanatic’s recipe, changes noted)

  • (1) 2 whole chicken legs (1 lb)  4 chicken legs pouched
  • (2) 1 onion, chopped
  • (3) 1  1/2 can lite coconut milk
  • (4) 1.5 tsp Muchi curry 2 tbs. Wild Cheff Curry Blend
  • (5) 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tblsp coconut oil
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste
  • white rice to serve (made with organic chicken stock and some Smart Balance)

For cooking instructions, well, you’ll just have to follow the link and hear it from her…keyboard?

Mine came out looking like this:

It was yummy. I’d offer you some but I sent all of the leftovers with Matt to work last night. Bummer dude 😦 Oh well! Looks like you will just have to make some of your own! 😉

No workout today as I can barely move. “Shuffle” is really the word for how I’m moving today. I love you body combat, but you force me to do things to my body that I probably shouldn’t be. Oh well.

Food Journal:

  • Breakfast: my new Chocolate Elephant Monkey banana split smoothie (not nearly as naughty as it sounds. In fact, quite healthy!)
  • snack: left over cornbread if I feel so inclined but to be honest I’m very full from my smoothie!
  • Lunch: sandwich on a deli flat with low sodium turkey, low sodium cheese, mustard and lettuce, a baggie full of assorted raw veggies and mango (obvi. BTW have you seen how cheap mangos are right now?! I’m in mango heaven I am!).
  • Dinner: Spicy Chicken Rigatoni from Buca di Beppo. (leftovers although I never got to try any)
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lindsey’s First Ever CURRY!

  1. Glad you liked the curry!! Sorry it made your man’s computer freeze though 😦 When I switched to my own domain it had a hard time handling the larger dslr picture sizes (which I’ve fixed now) but an older computer may have trouble with it — sorrrry!!!

Leave a Reply

