Sick :(. Herb Eye of the Round with 2 Mushroom Ragout


Yes, I’m sick today. Nasty little bugger snuck up on me out of nowhere! ALSO, our oven died on Monday night. The coil sparked and fuzzed and my oven looked like the fourth of July. It’s too depressing to talk about but it got one last good meal out of it. Moving on…

Being sick sucks for several reasons:

  1. I cannot workout (and I did so well yesterday getting back at it too! :()
  2. I feel very woozy and dizzy and a little shaky (cold or cold medicine? not sure who to blame for this one)
  3. I have a very busy week! I have a cooking class to teach tomorrow, food to buy and prep tonight, a dinner Friday, A game supper walk through early Saturday and an ACTUAL game supper that night. I cannot afford to be sick!
  4. I can’t be anywhere near my Dad whose birthday is tomorrow (he had a stem cell transplant almost a year ago and can’t be getting sick!)
  5. I just feel crappy. I want to go home and lay in bed and stare at the ceiling…or out the window…or at the cat’s fur. I’m not picky

So needless to say no training. To be forced so suddenly from a training routine after JUST getting back into after nearly a 2 week hiatus is devastating at best. I’m very pissed off about this.

BUT lets not dwell on things we cannot change. I’m chugging tea like it’s my job and taking cold medicine and pluggin’ on through. In the meantime I want to share a recipe with you, one for Herbs Eye of the Round with 2 Mushroom Ragout.

This is an ancient recipe by our standards (not really but we can pretend). Our very first Christmas living together, we each stuffed each other’s stockings with cooking magazines; mine with Bon Appetit and his with Fine Cooking. Are we a match made in heaven or what?! 😉 We found that when we combined the 2 recipes, it was ALSO a match made in heaven!

For this you will need the Herb Butter from yesterday. Remember that? I learned a little trick from the head chef of the catering company I work for on occasion. He had made his own herb butter, and proceeded to place a finished beef tenderloin on top of it and roll it around, letting all of the butter melt and smother the roast. It was a revelation.

So, here we combine the Roast Beef with Dijon-Caper Sauce (minus the Dijon caper sauce) from Bon Appetit’s January 2009 issue, with the Fine Cooking recipe for Double Mushroom Ragout (we ignore the roast part).

I love eye of the round, I just love it. No one ever makes it anymore because it’s a very tough cut of meat. Soooo whats your point? The key is to cook it to about medium and slice it very thin against the grain! This makes for a cut that falls apart.

NOTE: when I make this, I do the entire thing in a large cast iron skillet. I sear the meat, roast the meat, and then use the same pan, drippings and all for the mushroom ragout.

Herb Eye of the Round Roast

(adapted from Bon Appetit’s Roast Beef with Dijon-Caper Sauce, changes noted)

Roast Beef:
  • 1 3-pound eye of round beef roast, trimmed of excess fat and sinew
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 2 cups low-salt beef broth
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons drained capers
  • 

Preparation

For roast beef:
Sprinkle beef with 1/2 teaspoon salt; let stand 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Mix thyme, basil, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper in small bowl. Heat oil in large oven-proof skillet over medium-high heat. Add beef; cook until browned on all sides, turning occasionally, about 10 minutes. Sprinkle with herb mixture. Transfer skillet to oven. Roast until instant-read thermometer inserted into center of meat registers 130°F, about 40 minutes. Transfer to cutting board; let rest.

*Place a few pats of herb butter on the cutting board and place the roast on top when letting it rest. When slicing, roll the roast around in the melted herb butter to cover the roast.

For sauce:
Place skillet with juices over medium-high heat. Add butter; stir until melted. Add flour; whisk until smooth. Gradually whisk in broth; bring to boil. Boil until sauce is reduced to 1 1/4 cups, whisking often, about 6 minutes. Whisk in mustard and capers. Season sauce with pepper.  We don’t use this sauce!

Cut beef crosswise into very thin slices. Transfer beef to platter. Serve with sauce.

Next we have the 2 mushroom ragout. I often use baby bella mushrooms for this as that’s what I have available. Once you have removed the roast to the “herb butter covered cutting board”, simply place the skillet on the stove and use it from there.

As Fine Cooking is snooty and denied me access to this recipe unless I felt like paying lots of money for a membership, I’m doing it from memory.

2 Mushroom Ragout

(adapted from Fine Cooking’s Double-Mushroom Ragout)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of baby bella mushrooms sliced
  • 1 cup of dried porcini mushrooms
  • 1 lb of baby spinach (optional)
  • 1 tbs. of butter
  • 5 cloves of garlic minced
  • 2 tbs. of fresh thyme
  • 1 tbs. of fresh rosemary
  • 1/2 -1 cup of red wine
  • 2/4 cup of heavy cream
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Reconstitute the dried mushrooms in HOT water, about 1 1/2 cups. set aside, about 10 minutes. Reserve some of the soaking liquid.
  • Place the skillet used for the roast over medium/high heat.
  • immediately add butter and sliced baby bella mushrooms. Add salt and pepper and saute until they begin to brown, about 10 minutes.
  • Add reconstituted porcini mushrooms garlic and saute 1 minute.
  • De-glaze the pan with red wine and add beef juice from sliced roast. Continue cooking for 5 minutes until it has reduced, stirring often.
  • Add herbs and cream and turn the heat down slightly to medium low and cook down. If it needs thinning add mushroom soaking liquid.

This. Is. PHENOMENALLY. The herbs and the mushrooms and the beef. Mm. MMM!! We used to make this somewhat often but it’s been a long time and I forgot how amazingly yummy it is. It just has such a great flavor combination. It’s a very impressive meal but I suggest making it for a crowd as for just 2 it’s a LOT and the leftovers aren’t nearly as good. We served ours with some mashed potatoes and roasted (that is until my oven died and I had to finish cooking them in the microwave) haricot vert (french green beans).

Well I hope your feeling better than I am today. I’m going to hunt down some soup for lunch and Matt is supposedly attempting German ravioli tonight (?!?) Bless him, I hope he know’s what he’s doing!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick :(. Herb Eye of the Round with 2 Mushroom Ragout

  1. Catherine says:

    This roast sounds delicious and the ragout sounds like a perfect match for the roast. I’m sure this was delicious!
    Feel better soon!
    Blessings,
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

