Chocolate Cake Torte with White Chocolate Mousse and Raspberrry Orange Zest Sauce


TRAINING: (to be done) some but kicking elliptical and the body weight part of Matt’s Kettle bell DVD (I have no idea what it’s called but he’s OBSESSED to the point that I was expected to receive a kettle bell of my very own for Valentine’s Day because he keeps telling me I need one)

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: 8 oz of the Superfoods Odwalla with some crushed multi vitamin mixed in (which is actually making me feel QUITE sick. Not your fault Odwalla! My own fault I put in too much multi vit! oy.)
  • BREAKFAST #2: (Because why not have 2 breakfasts?) some plain cream of wheat with skim milk
  • LUNCH: (TBE) Split pea soup
  • DINNER: I’m not sure to be honest! I might have a baby green salad (cut up very small per my oral surgeon’s orders) and left overs from last night.

I arrived home yesterday ALL excited for my special V-day meal only to be informed by my beloved that he would be making me my Valentine’s Day surprise on WEDNESDAY. Whaaa?!

I was disappointed to say the least and gave him the silent treatment while I worked on MY special surprise dessert because I wasn’t about to slack! Oh no! We weren’t even sure WHAT we were having for dinner so I instructed him to take the bay scallops out the freezer and get them thawing in water so we could make one of my FAVORITES which I will share with you, sans pictures, because it is one of the most elegant and yet fast and easy dinner EVER.

For dessert, I did end up coming to a conclusion: Chocolate Cake Torte with White Chocolate Mousse & Raspberry Orange Zest Sauce

Now I cut a lot of corners here and rushed things a bit which yielded me a very messy, kinda lopsided torte BUT it still tasted phenomenal. My #1 tip would be to start this or even make it a day ahead of time. It’s really not very confusing or even time-consuming, I managed to whip most of it together in a about half an hour but you do need to give the mousse time to chill and set (about 6 hours or overnight) and you need to level the cake, and then after assembling, make sure you let the whole thing chill for a few hours. I didn’t, but hey, it was pretty divine if I don’t say so myself.

Chocolate Cake Torte with White Chocolate Mousse & Raspberry Orange Zest Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 13×9 baked recipe of your favorite chocolate cake ( I used boxed cake mix EKK! I know but I needed to save time. If you really want to impress though I suggest making your favorite from scratch recipe though!)
  • 2 cups of heavy whipping cream (I never said this was diet food here)
  • 12 oz of high quality WHITE chocolate…or white chocolate chips (this is 1 bag)
  • 1 bag of frozen Wyman’s raspberries (this is the best bet in the winter)
  • 3 Tbs. sugar
  • zest of 1 orange
  • juice from orange
  • 5 Tbs. and 3 Tbs water

(see this recipe is already easy peasy!)

Directions:

  • Pour cream into a large bowl and put in refrigerator to keep cool.
  • melt white chocolate and 5 Tbs. of water in bowl set over barely simmering water (this is what “they” like to call a double boiler), stirring constantly until melted
  • set aside and let come to room temp, stirring occasionally.
  • meanwhile, using the same small saucepan you used for your double boiler (at least this is what I did), remove the water and add raspberries, water, sugar, orange zest and juice from orange. I didn’t use the juice from the orange which was a big mistake. I had already added too much water and I had to use more sugar to sweeten it BUT I high recommend you use this step. ALSO, ZEST first, cut and juice SECOND!…hehe, poor naked orange!

You will need one of these do-dads and if you don’t have one, go get it. Everyone needs a zester in their life.

  • Bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring occasionally, reduce heat to medium low and let reduce. About 10-15 minutes.
  • Remove cold bowl of cream from the fridge and beat on medium speed until peaks form. I made my peaks a bit stiffer because I wasn’t letting this set for too long but really a soft peak is fine.
  • GENTLY fold the room temp white chocolate into whipped cream. How you ask? using a spatula, go around the outside of the bowl. Then swooping into the middle and cut the mixture in half, folding the mixture over itself. Do the same on the other side. If you stir this you will end up with a watery yucky mess and no one will like it…least of all you.
  • Let this set (which I did for only about 1 hour) in the fridge either overnight or for 6 hours. (Yeah whatever)
  • When raspberry mixture is reduced slightly to a more syrupy consistency, strain it through a fine mesh sieve as such, forcing the mixture through, so the seeds stay behind but the fiber of the fruit goes through to thicken it. Make sure to scrape the outside of the sieve to get all of the loveliness. Set aside (this can also be done a day ahead and kept in the fridge)
  • bake cake according to directions (or if you’re doing it like me, make this first)
  • transfer cooled cake to a cutting board, top facing up and let cool completely (Also didn’t do this)
  • When the cake is cooled, CAREFULLY level the cake, using a seated knife, cutting off the top so that it’s even. (I skipped this step which is EXACTLY why my torte resembled the leaning tower of pisa)
  • Next cut the cake in half. like so [|] (nice illustrations right?)
  • Then, CAREFULLY again, cut each layer in half through the middle, making 4 thin layers total. Brush crumbs from the top.

ASSEMBLY!

  • stack your first layer of cake onto a platter.

*NOTE: to keep your platter clean, overlap layers of wax or parchment paper on the platter and then place the cake on top. Then when you are done, carefully slide the paper from underneath!

  • drizzle 1/4 of raspberry mixture over the cake and spread out evenly.
  • spread about 1/5 of the white chocolate mousse on top of this and spread out evenly.
  • repeat 2 more times and then top with 4th cake layer.
  • Next clean up the edges. Using your serrated knife and a ruler if your feeling ambitious, trim the edges of the cake so that it’s a nice clean rectangle…unlike mine.
  • Now “frost” the entire torte with the remainder of the white chocolate mousse (you can see why you used so little on the layers) and use the remaining raspberry sauce to drizzle over the top and make it prettier than mine please!
  • Let set up in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. (didn’t do that. I was COVERED in mousse and raspberry sauce by the time I was done and not in a good way, and stuffing the end pieces I cut off into my mouth. I’m not sure I even ate an actual slice. Oh well!)
  • Want to be really fancy? Garnish with fresh raspberries and top with a little orange zest. Hell, even press white chocolate shavings into the sides and be the star of the show why dont’ you? As I was only presenting this to my boyfriend who ignored HIS part of the Valentine’s Day meal duties, I did not do any of these things. HOWEVER, this came out so divinely that I will be sure to make this again in the future for a party and you can bet your bottom that I will make that thing GORGOUS!….as it was it simply looked ready to eat.

Now what makes this worthy of being on trail to train you ask? Why I sent the rest of it packing with Matt to bring to the other cops and share with his family! HAH!…a move I am regretting as I write this post and remember how amazingly yummy this was. Oh well, this only means I can’t gorg myself!

I hope your Valentine was a little better to you than mine was (he’ll never live this down) and keep an eye out for my next post about dinner!

    
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Cake Torte with White Chocolate Mousse and Raspberrry Orange Zest Sauce

  1. This cake looks heavenly! I can’t wait to give it a try.

    Thanks for the recipe, Lindsey!!

    • forkl says:

      No probbb I’m glad to see you like my original creation!…just please take a little more time than I did and make it look pretty please?…or don’t and just eat all of the evidence, whichever is easier.

  2. Tiffany says:

    Chocolate torte and white chocolate mousse! Sounds amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

