The Wine is BACK!


TRAINING: Tomorrow! Bo-yah!

FOOD JOURNAL: (THIS IS SO VERY EXCITING!)

  • BREAKFAST: smoothie with yogurt and almond milk and a banana and flax-seed and any other item i found in my fridge or freeze I though was health.
  • LUNCH: Butternut Squash Soup (which everyone teased me about and said looked like baby food 😦 meany heads)
  • SNACK: Stoneyfiled Farm tube yogurt (I still refuse to call it whatever silly name they actually gave it. It is tub yogurt as far as I’m concerned)
  • DINNER: (TBE) are you ready for this….PIZZA AND WINE!!!!!!

I would like to start this post by saying I have found the Pioneer Woman and there is no going back. Matt & I will be moving to upstate Maine to start a mini cattle farm and home school our 4 children that we do not have. This starting as soon as I convince him of such.

How did I not know about her? HOW?! My friend Ali over at Tiny Wallet Style (which incidentally happens to be one of th cutest blogs ever) was raving about one of her recipes like a month ago and I was bored yesterday so I googled her. I am in love. This woman is hysterical and I SEEM to be the last person in the world to find this out. She’s got what, like 10 million followers? (That’s not an offical number don’t quote me on that.)

ANYWHO I will be buying her book anything else she happens to put out.

But this is not the exciting thing. I realize I’m coming off as a bit of a wine-o here but I want to assure you that is NOT the case and I plan on indulging only in moderation.

What is it about not being allowed to have something that makes you want it more? I realize this is the principle behind playing hard to get, but I was not happy that my beloved glass (or 2) over the weekends had been banned for my surgery. I.E. playing hard to get. I promise you very sincerely that I did not drink until I was 21, always do so responsibly and have NEVER been/had any of the following:

  • so drunk that I could not walk/fell over (although I did fall down the stairs at a bar once in front of everyone but had not had a single drink..a drunk girl bumped into me, not selfs fault)
  • said something I shouldn’t have/regretted saying (although I do tend to love everyone all the more after maybe 2 glasses of wine but they are all people I loved anyway so it’s not a big deal)
  • blacked out
  • forgotten where I was/who I was with…forgotten anything
  • hung over. Nope, not once, every.

Needless to say I LOVE my wine because it’s yummy. Oh so yummy and yes, it makes me happy.

SO I went into the surgeeon’s office today (different surgeon, not sure how I felt about him) because one of my stitches was lose and hanging down in a loop behind one of my teeth. He poked around, cut one side and I thought, cut the other but half way back to work, it was hanging down 😦 grrr. I will deal with this later.

I called immediately afterwards and asked all th silly little questions I had forgotten to ask when I was there:

  1. can I eat SOFT pizza?
  2. can I eat baby greens as they aren’t crunchy?
  3. can I have a glass of wine seeing as how I’m done with my pain meds?

Answers:

  1. Yes but be CAREFUL and cut it up really small (fair enough)
  2. YES but be careful and cut it up really small (okkk)
  3. Yes, but one. Don’t go crazy.

YESSSS!!!! lettuce and wine and pizza are all back in my life, although not exactly in that order.

Tomorrow I have to work a catering job, and Matt is working a detail. So by the time I get home, he will be leaving. 😦 BUT this means I get to fit in a great workout YAYYYY

I’m actually starting to look forward to Spring which is my second least favorite season behind Summer. With the winter we have had this year, I think even the hardiest of New Englanders are ready for the end, which is probably far away.

Warmer weather means snow melting, which means no more giant snow berms, which means I can start running outside. I’m trying to pump myself up here instead of thinking I’d rather pull out my own finger nails with rusty pliers. Yes I would MUCH rather go for a run than do that!

I going to take a little trip to my local Co-op (which is not so local) and see what I can find. I’ll come up with something good for dinner this weekend if it’s the last thing I do!

Have a great weekend everyone, and eat something crunchy for me!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Wine is BACK!

  1. Ally says:

    Oooh pizza, greens and wine is my favorite dinner! I’m not sure if you like goat cheese, but we make a pizza that is AMAZING. Cut up a small zucchini and a small summer squash (half of each is fine) super thin on a mandoline. Pre-bake the pizza crust and while it’s hot, smear some goat cheese over the top. Arrange all of the veggie slices over the cheese, zest a lemon and sprinkle the zest on and add some salt. Bake for another few minutes until the veggies are hot. So so so so so delicious.

    Also, PW is my hero. I read her blog at least 3x a day.

    • forkl says:

      I do NOT like goat cheese believe it or not! I think I worked at Davis Farmland for too long with far too many goats and there’s something about the way it tasted that remind me of, uhm, well, male goats lets put it that way. BUT I could always subsitute another soft cheese because that does sound excellent!

  2. Kate says:

    oh. my. god. HOW DID IT TAKE YOU SO LONG TO FIND THE PIONEER WOMAN!? Ree is hysterical. please tell me you know about the following:

    http://www.tastespotting.com
    http://www.foodgawker.com

    xoxox

    • forkl says:

      Nope never heard of them! I live under a rock Kate don’t you realize this?! lol I was just telling Ally I saw my very first episode of “French Cooking” with Julia Child like a month or 2 ago. She is so funny! How had I never seen her before? I now have “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” on my birthday wish list. I’m WAY behind on everything I guess but thanks for the other 2 links I WILL be checking them out!

  3. Kate says:

    Also, what are you catering? I just purchased a book about catering for my kindle. woot!

    • forkl says:

      I’m doing a wild game supper for a gentelman’s club in Portsmouth, NH with the Wild Cheff (www.WildCheff.com) It’s very exciting! I can’t give away the menu yet though it’s very hush hush but it’s modeled after a tradtional New England game feast.
      We are doing a run through in 2 weeks but I don’t have a kindle sooo you’r just going to have to let me borrow yours! lol

  4. So glad you found Pioneer Woman, definitely surprised you haven’t heard of her since she’s been on tv and has her own book! Love her recipes. Hope you’re having a nice weekend 🙂

    • forkl says:

      Thanks! I know I can’t understand why I didn’t know about her before. I hardly watch TV though, when I do it’s pretty much the travel channel, discovery and the history channel. I am a total geek and I’m not ashamed lol.
      I WILL be getting her book though! …well both the cookbook and the new novel!
      P.S. I see we share a love for Anthony Bourdain! 😉 ol

Leave a Reply

