I’m So Over This


TRAINING: We wont talk about it it’s too depressing

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: Chocolate Banana Monkey 🙂
  • LUNCH: leftover mashed potatoes and ‘pureed’ chicken :-/
  • SNACK: Stoneyfield Farm tube yogurt (I think it’s called Yo Kidz or something ridiculous like that)
  • DINNER: ? I may track down some good veggie soup..or anything who knows. Maybe mac and cheese or a smoothie even…cream of wheat?

If more person looks at me with disappointment when I tell them I CAN in fact eat and I probably wont lose any weight, I’m going to shoot myself.

You know, I didn’t realize I needed to lose it that badly but apparently I do! (I did lose almost 3 lbs so far I’ll have you know!)

Anyway moving on, the thing that’s been driving me the most nuts is the ban on my workouts. I’ve now conditioned my body for it and it’s making me flat-out depressed! I swear I can feel my muscles atrophy. It’s amazing how quickly your body will deteriorate in a week, and yet takes WEEKS to get back into shape. It’s like taking 1 step forward and oh, maybe 18 back?

I called the doctor yesterday. They had called me Monday to check in on me and so I decided to return the call. The receptionist? She was no help. When I asked if I really couldn’t work out she said “Well, I mean you can do mild things like walk..and uhm..well what did you have in mind?” “I have an elliptical machine,” I start, “Oh no definitely not! Too strenuous sorrryyyy. Yeah, we don’t want your heart rate going up.” She even put the kibosh on yoga!

Grr. GRRRR!

So now I’m stuck as a couch potato. I don’t get it, when I had my wisdom teeth out I was at the gym 3 days later! I couldn’t stand it any longer..although come to think of it I probably wasn’t suppose to do that.

Oh well, I guess the bright side to all of this is that I’m now super duper amped up and ready to go once I can work out again. I’m already looking forward to the Spring when I can start running outside. I’m going to have to aim for 5Ks in May and June I think. I’m not going to be ready for April. BUT have no fear, WHEN I can get back I will be doing so with a vengeance! Biking and swimming are going to be added in come March and April so training will get cranked up a few notches. I’ve fallen out of my ‘early to rise’ sleeping pattern so that part is going to suck to say the least but I’ll get there.

In the meantime I’m stuck on ‘mushy food diet’ until NEXT Friday the 18th (no fun meals on Valentine’s Day then I guess :(). She said I can chew, but only soft things like pasta. So last night we had spaghetti and meatballs..with turkey meatballs and Barilla Plus pasta. Step in the right direction…and then trifle for dessert. I needed cake ok!?

As far as I understand it I can start easing back into my workouts come Saturday? I may have to call and confirm that but lets hope it’s true! I’m working on some amazing recipe for a super secret squirrel food mission (event) I’m doing with The Wild Cheff in March so stick around. I may not be able to eat, but that doesn’t mean YOU can’t! 😉

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in UNRELATED THOUGHTS. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m So Over This

  1. Have you asked your Dr about deep water running? Or aquafit? I know it sounds lame, but when I tore my patella in August I wasn’t allowed to do ANYTHING for 3 months. My Athletic Therapist was allowing me to do 45minutes of deep water running a day. I started with aquafit first as it’s a bit slower. I was amazed at how fit I got.

    • forkl says:

      No I haven’t but that’s an excellent idea! I use to work at a gym that had aquafit and I did consider it when I had knee surgery..10 years ago(?) This was my gums so they just didn’t want me exercising at all. I’m not really sure what it has to do with my mouth, perhaps increased blood flow=increased swelling? Who knows. I’ll be able to get back into it slowly on Saturday which I’m thrilled about but thanks for the idea!
      Also the runners cookies! I’m so excited to make them but I’m not sure I’ll be able to find hemp powder. Do you have any good subsitutes?

      • I’m sure it’s because of the blood flow. If you’re working out your body is going to pump a lot more blood, that could lead to massive swelling, pain, and if you have any stitches, they could rip [talking from experience. Ouch!]

        You can use another form of protein powder. I’ve done these with rice protein and they’ve worked out well. If you’re not dairy free, you could try a whey protein. I like to suggest organic whey protein in that case… just cleaner for you!

        You’ll have to let me know when you make the cookies and what protein powder you end up using.

      • forkl says:

        Thank you I will! I’m not dairy free although I try to limit it. My boyfriend was able to track down some awesome PEA protein believe it or not, so I’ll give that a try and let you know how it turns out.

  2. Annie says:

    Ugh, that sucks. I just read through you last few posts and you definitely have my sympathies. Dentist stuff is scary! I had a wisdom tooth extracted a few years ago and opted to stay awake to avoid the bill and have regretted that decision ever since.

    It does sound like you are on the road to recovery though and I am wishing you an extra speedy recovery!

    • forkl says:

      Thanks Annie I’m getting there! My diet has been a little pathetic as of late. I really wish I had thought to do this in like late summer or early fall when my garden will be in full swing. It would be so much nicer to just cook and puree a bunch of fresh fruits and veggies, my choices are highly limited in the winter but just one more week and then I’m free in time for my Birthday! 😀

Leave a Reply

