My Mushy Foods Diet: I’m back! :D..Part 1


TRAINING: BANNED…for the rest of the week (humph :()

FOOD JOURNAL: (wait until you read this, you will laugh)

BREAKFAST: smoothie made with Chobani, fresh strawberries and a banana, almond milk, vegetable juice, frozen wild blueberries, a powdered multi vitamin (this was my GENIUS idea :D) and some ground flax-seed.

SNACK: Stoneyfield Farm yogurt “tube” (it’s like the organic go-gurt)

LUNCH: Pureed Red Lentil Soup (next blog)

DINNER: leftovers; mashed potatoes, pureed chicken ( I was desperate OK?!), pureed canned french style green beans, Butternut Squash Soup (next blog), and the rest of the sole. (don’t judge)

Meet my New Best Friend:

This is the picture from when I first got this and it has saved my life this week.

To recap, it’s been now 4 full days since I had my gum surgery. It was a BLAST let me tell you. Would I recommend it? Not at all but it had to be done after all. I wont’ go into detail, one I don’t want to re-live the horror, and 2 you’ll never do it. 

The day of my surgery, by the time I got home, although having lips numb up to the tip of my nose and down to my chin, my mouth had begun to wake up and I was in excruciating pain and in desperate need of my pain meds. Swallowed a few of those and then turned right around and headed back out. I had a vicodine script I needed filled, food to buy and movies to rent. Luckily this was all in the same plaza.

Whatever I thought I might be able to eat, went in the cart; cream of wheat, yogurt galour, milk, almond milk, frozen fruit for smoothies, a million bananas, instant mashed potatoes, and ice cream, which incidentally was not nearly as fun picking out as one would expect. I couldn’t have anything with chunks (and all the good ones do) so I sadly ended up with french vanilla and coffee?

Anyway friday, well it sucked. Matt left me in the midst of making me a smoothie to run off and do a detail (I could not protests as I couldn’t talk without drooling) so i had to shuffle out and make my own muttering darkly. This is when I came up with my Chocolate Elephant Monkey. Now the name could be due to the meds but I like it. I had to make it with all natural chunky peanut butter (which I wouldn’t advice) and put it in a sport top water bottle and squirt it down my throat but with a tweak or two, this is DELICIOUS..espcially when I made it the next day with ice cream instead of yogurt 😉

The Chocolate Elephant (peanut) Monkey (banana)

  • 1 banana frozen
  • 1/4 cup of smooth peanut butter
  • 1/3-1/2 chocolate protein powder
  • 1/3-1/2 Chobani 0%
  • low-fat milk

combine all in blender and blend until smooth. Add enough milk to creat desired consistency. enjoy 🙂

HIGHLY recommended with the ice cream, but when done the original way, VERY yummy and super-duper protein packed!

Moving on, I was supposed to ice my face 15 minutes on, 15 minutes off for the entire day! This was the crappiest part, getting up every 15 minutes when all I wanted to do was lay like broccoli (watched some Pretty Woman during my stay on the couch) but I was schlepping up, trying to desperately find a cold pack or bag of frozen vegetables cold and mushy enough to lay on my face. I was silently (hurt too much to talk) cursing Matt and having mutinous thoughts when my parents showed up with flowers (aww thanks mum!) and a juicer, and frozen mango (dah-da-da DAH!).

My mother fluttered about in my kitchen while my dad sat in the living room with me, distracting snuggling with my dog. After some debate we realized there was nothing really worth her juicing at my house but that she should instead bring me the kale and spinach she has juiced for me (which my father refered to as grass). She made me a smoothie which I had no interest in drinking (in my sport top bottle, life savers those things) and when Matt finally arrived home I was in some mood…that being the silent mood.

He made pizza while I tried not to cry and then I guilt tripped him to death and then around 9:30 I decided I was hungry and he made me a vanilla shake…with crushed up snickerdoodle cookies (genius move again) and served it to me in my water bottle.

So that was my dinner. Worth it? Yeah I’d say so. That night I took my vicodine as directed, went to bed very late and was up the next day by 6am, sick of anything sweet and scheming over what I might be able to get away with that was savory. 🙂 I came up with some stuff let me tell you!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

