Snickerdoodles, Beef Stroganoff & GUM SURGERY!


TRAINING: probably just some yoga before bed but I DID get in a great 45 minute sweat session on the elliptial yesterday during my snow day!

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: smoothie with just some frozen wild blueberries and banana (milk, greek yogurt & V8) I need to stock up on frozen fruit TONIGHT!
  • SNACK: (TBE) the last of aunt Barb’s granola (WHICH I scored the recipe for!!)
  • LUNCH: (TBE) baby greens with tuna, fat-free feta, red onion and olive oil lemon juice dressing
  • DINNER: (TBE) not sure! May be eating with the wonderful Ashley on my last night of feedom eating or may be eating at home with Matt.

Yes, you read correctly, I Miss. Lindsey, will be getting gum surgery and I need your help!!

Well, WHAT, you ask, is gum surgery? Well let me tell you a little story;

When I was about oh, 11 or so, I was told I needed braces. No shocker there. I looked worse than any hillbilly around. My top teeth were completely twisted and my tiny little mouth was SO overcrowded I needed a palette expander and some teeth pulled. I endured 2 years that consisted of; 2 teeth being pulled to make room for my other teeth, a palette expander including nightly torture sessions where my father had to use a key to literally PULL my upper mouth apart, countless canker soars, pulling, tugging and beating my teeth into straight submission. The reward? A beautiful strait smile right? Yes, and gum tissue that was so traumatized that it no longer covers the roots of several of my teeth. What does this look like? Well this is not MY mouth but I found these pictures online that very much sum it up:

Now I have teeth in all 4 quadrants of my mouth that look like the before picture (left). What they DON’T show you is how I will look come tomorrow which I’ll be SURE to share with you. 😉 Looking forward to it aren’t you?

This is not going to be fun, in fact I’m told it’s excruciating AND it’s BLOOD EXPENSIVE! I wont go into detail as it’s too painful to think of, but lets just say after my pointless dental insurance picks up the first $2,000, it’s going to cost me QUITE a few grand more.

Now I am going to hate this for several reasons; it’s expensive, it’s excruciatingly painful, I am a total baby about my mouth and pain (you should have seen me when I got my wisdom teeth out!), I cannot drink alcohol so not even a glass of wine this weekend but the 2 worst are these:

1. I cannot workout for a whole week! (I read my post op instructions, it looks very grim) and

2. I CAN ONLY EAT SOFT, MUSHY COLD FOODS!…IF I CAN EAT AT ALL!

When I went for a general check up with my PCP last week and I informed her about getting my entire mouth done at once, she stared at me in honor. The last thing you want to see before going into surgery is a look of terror on your doctor’s face. I had to yell “WHAT?! Stop looking at me like that!” to her to which she said, “I’m just really surprised they are letting you do it all at once and Lindsey, I don’t mean to scare you but, you’re going to be in a LOT of pain and it’s going to be very difficult to eat.” Great. Wonderful. This has been the general reaction over the past few weeks when I share this information with anyone. They look at me as though I’ve signing my own death warrant.

Why all the complaining? Well, I need your help. I need recipes for soft, COLD mushy foods I can eat…other than ice cream and smoothies…oh and I don’t like raw tomatoes so gazpacho is out. I can have some room temp foods after the first 3 days but they still have to be mushy. My doctor told me it’s going to be very hard to eat and get nutrients so I should take a multi vitamin, B12, because some novocaine and anesthesia leaches it out of your body, and folic acid because it helps with cell regeneration (smart lady that doctor of mine!).

I have a very suspicious feeling I’m going to get sick of smoothies real fast and there is no way my stomach could tolerate 3 full days of ice cream consumption, as wonderful as that may sound to some people.

So this is my plea for help. I cannot live on smoothies and ice cream for the next 3 days so anything you’ve got for me, bring it on please!

NOW, moving on to some yummy stuff. 😀

2 Nights ago we had Beef Stroganoff. This is one of my pantry staple meals.

Lindsey’s Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb top round, or sirloin steak cut into strips and then bite sized pieces
  • 3/4 bag of No Yolk Egg Noodles
  • 1 lb baby bella mushrooms thinly slices
  • 2 medium onions
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp steak/grill seasoning
  • 2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tbsp. cream sherry
  • 2 tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 cup of sour cream OR greek yogurt (I used a combo of both)
  • Butter or Smart Balance for egg noodles

Directions:

  • bring large pot of salted water to a boil.
  • trim steak and cut according to directions above. Place on a plate and sprinkle with steak seasoning and Worcestershire sauce. Toss and set aside.
  • chop onions.
  • clean mushrooms with a damp cloth, remove stems and thinly slice. set aside.
  • finely mince garlic and set aside.
  • heat a large skillet over medium high heat.
  • coat pan with 1 tbsp of olive oil.
  • add onions and cook 2 minutes stirring occasionally.
  • add steak and cook 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add mushrooms and cook 3-4 minutes stirring occasionally until the mushrooms are slightly browned.

  • Cook and drain pasta and place back in pot. Add just enough butter or spread to thinly coat pasta.
  • Add garlic to stroganoff mixture. cook 30 seconds.
  • Add sherry and cook another 2 minutes until cooked off slightly.
  • turn heat to low and add sour cream/yogurt and Dijon mustard and let cook for another minute. If you mixture is too thick, add 1/4 cup of beef broth.
  • Serve over pasta and enjoy.

So YESTERDAY I was snowed in yet again. After working out, showering, lounging about watching movies and doing dishes, I decided I needed to bake some cookies.

I had been having the strongest urge to make an New England Favorite for a long time and I’m glad I listened. The result? Snickerdoodles my friends!

Now for my non New Englanders you may never have had these cookies. If that is the case, I feel IMMENSELY sorry for you! These things are CLASSIC comfort food. It consists of a tender cross between a butter cookie and a sugar cookie, formed into balls and rolled in cinnamon & sugar. They are warm and buttery and sweet, spicy from the cinnamon with a little tang from the cream of tartar. These came out divinely but I have a little trick for you: to keep cookies soft simply put them into an air tight container and add a piece of soft bread! The bread will get hard and the cookies will stay oh so soft and delectable.

I broke out the trusty Betty Crocker Red Cookbook (or as I loveingly refer to it at times, simply “My Red Book”) and, believe it or not, I didn’t change a thing! Nope I followed the recipe to a T and they came out SUPERBE. For those of you in possession of this book, it’s on page 155. 😀

In fact, I took a picture of it because I’m lazy like that:

So while making these I made a little assembly line. If you find the dough is too soft to work with, cover the bowl and place it in the fridge for a half hour.

Pop them in the oven and check them when you can smell them. 🙂 This is a good baking rule. They should be JUST golden brown. Make sure you don’t over cook them.Good luck my little Snickerdoodle babies!

 

Mmmm 🙂

All told I ended up with quite a few of these delectable morsels, more than I can eat before D-day tomorrow :(. SO, I brought a bunch into work and the rest will be for Matt’s consumption. He can eat them in front of me to torture me.

So tonight, I’m cashing in a massage my friend who happens to be a masseuse gave us when we bought the house. I had no intention over ever turning it in but I REALLY would like my neck and back to feel better before the surgery. I’m going to be stuck the couch for a few days which wouldn’t help the problem.

I hope my yummy recipes made up a little for my complaining. Next week will be interesting and I’ll be checking in for recipe suggestions so keep them coming! Thanks to everyone in advance! 😀 I hope you having something much more fun planned for this weekend! (I’m also taking funny movies suggestions 😉 )

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snickerdoodles, Beef Stroganoff & GUM SURGERY!

  1. After almost a month full of horrible strep throat, a trip to the emergency room and a tonsillectomy last February I definitely became the queen of mushy foods! I think I ate solid foods like 5 days during that month or something haha. If you need any smoothie (mine were all non-dairy since I had to avoid dairy with the healing process) and/or food ideas check out my blog archives from Feb 2010 – there’s tons of “mush” on there 🙂 Some suggestions would be oats – sweet or make them savory, eggs – ate a ton of those, just let them cool!, drinking Amazing Grass if you can – I swear this helped me heal twice as fast and helps you get those nutrients, making your own black bean soup – I just got store bought and put in the blender then served at room temp, and of course yogurt (Chobani!) would be good as well. Hope that helps!

  2. Kate says:

    First of all, why is your oven blue? That is awesome.

    As for foods, pudding! Yogurt, pureed veg soup. I bet it’s good cold. Like squash soup or tomato soup? Scrambled eggs that are cooked to almost done. This is tough..

  3. Sheila says:

    Hi! I saw your comment on another blog which led me here because I am kind of in love with teeth and all things dental related, so I wanted to try and contribute to this post. Can you eat hummus? That’s a great, nutritious thing. So is ricotta cheese and honey – that’s one of my favorite combos for snacking. And I know you said you’ll get sick of smoothies, but remember you can put basically anything in a smoothie and it’s delish – for example, I use vanilla almond milk, spinach, bananas, and peaches. You can hardly taste the spinach, promise! Rice pudding is a good option as well as an Indian dish called Carrot Halva. It’s basically grated carrots cooked down with condensed milk and infused with cardamom. It’s AMAZING. So there you go, hope this helps 🙂 Check out my blog for more recipes and see if anything looks good to you!

  4. forkl says:

    Thank you all so much! This was a big help!
    Sorry I didn’t reply earlier, I wasn’t quite up to it 😦
    @Shelia Thank you so much for the suggestions! Carrot Halva sounds AWESOME, I’m sort of obsessed with cardamom. I did borrow my mom’s juicer, well actually she came over the day of my surgery and set up the juicer and then I sent her away with it, lol but she did juice some kale and spinach. I usually try to use vegetable juices in my smoothies as is, freezing them in ice cube trays and that’s basically what I’ve been doing; adding things like ground flax seed, vegetable juices and almond milk, and even peanutbutter to them. I’ll be sure to check out your blog, thanks for your help!
    @Kate the fact that my oven is blue is probably the ONLY good/cool thing about it. I hate that old thing with a fiery passion (te he)…and I don’t have an answer. Thanks for trying to help 😉
    @Stephanie, this was a HUGE help! I have actually taken to making things like poached chicken and putting it in the food processor (life saver). I’ve also been taking canned vegetables like beets and green beans and pureeing them because they are soft to begin with and I also made lentils and butternut squash soup and pureed those as well. They don’t look beautiful but if I let them cool I’m ok. I ventured eating sole on Sunday night because it’s so soft I could squish it on the roof of my mouth (so appetizing I know) and that was OK but I’ve been eating lots of cream of wheat, mashed potatoes, canned veggies, smoothies of every creation known to man and well, water. It doesn’t help that the mouthwash they have my using leaves a horrible bitter taste in my mouth YUCK 😛
    But thank you all for your help! This is my diet for the rest of this week and next, at least I can have warm things now though. I feel the love at the very least 😀

Leave a Reply

