Pork “Fried” Rice


TRAINING: 40 minutes on the elliptical and about 4oish push ups (OK, note to self, set alarm 30 minutes early for tomorrow!)

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: my us.; cho, banana, fruit smoothie with milk and some V* acai juice
  • SNACK: a cup and a half (I’m running out) of raw carrots and celery eaten like a chain smoker after my stessful 2 and 1/2 hour commute to work (as I don’t smoke, I chain eat, at least it’s rabbit food though)
  • LUNCH: small portion of left over Pork “Fried” Rice from last night (MMM!) and 1 small Stonyfield Farm yogurt
  • SNACK: (TBE) lovely low-fat string cheese (I have never grown out of LOVING to pull the cheese strings off!)
  • DINNER: (TBE) Chicken Tamale Casserole with salad (trying and severely altering a new recipe!)

I’ve added some pictures to my post from yesterday! Go check it out..and call me a freak. Go ahead, I don’t care.

Moving on, last night was another new favorite (notice a trend here 😉 ). I came up with this recipe as a fun game a friend of mine and I play on Facebook. She tells me what she has in her house, and I tell her what to make for dinner! She had left over chicken, mushrooms, peas and brown rice. I suggested this but them decided it would be awefuly good with pork! So, I picked some up and made it myself 😀

Without realizing it I more or less made the best pork rice ever…only I made the pork pieces really large and didn’t put in any scrambled eggs.

After eating this delicious concoction, I realized with a few tweaks this would be the best pork “fried” rice only a super healthy, protein packed version! SO, this is what I came up with:

Lindsey’s Pork “Fried” Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 1 1/2 Lbs. of boneless pork “chops” (whichever package has the least amount of fat marbled within. you are going to trim any fat on the edges)
  • 1 cup of brown rice (dry)
  • 2 1/2 cups of low sodium chicken broth (this was the ratio MY rice needed but yours may vary so check the package!)
  • 3/4 cup + 1 Tbs. of low sodium soy sauce, divided in 1/4 cup and 1/2 cup
  • 1 Tbs. sesame oil, divided in half
  • 3 Tbs. ginger, divided
  • 2 Tbs. rice wine vinegar (optional)
  • 1 cup of frozen peas, slightly thawed
  • 1 lb baby bella mushrooms
  • 2 medium onions
  • 5 medium cloves of garlic
  • 5 eggs
  • canola oil

Directions:

  • Start your brown rice immediately! It usually takes about 45 minutes so get it going immediately. You will be cooking this in chicken broth so get that boiling in a small pot over high heat and add the tablespoon of soy sauce, 1 tbs. of ginger and 1 clove of garlic finely minced. When the mixture comes to a boil, add the rice, stir, reduce the heat and cover, simmering for about 45 minutes (or as long as the package instructs). The rice should be light and fully and all of the moisture should be absorbed.

While the rice is cooking, assemble the rest of your “stir fry” ingredients:

  • trim the outside fat off of the pork. I used butterflyed, boneless pork chops. you want a thin cut.
  • Dice the pork into about 1/2 in. cubes.
  • add to a bowl and add 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1 Tbs. ginger, 1/2 Tbs. sesame oil and another clove of garlic minced. toss to coat and set aside to marinate.

  • Next prepare you vegetables. set them each aside in the order they will be added (onions, pork, peas, mushrooms & garlic)
  • chop onions
  • wipe mushrooms with a damp towel/paper towel. NEVER WASH MUSHROOMS! THey are like little sponges and will soak the water up and get slimy. yuck. remove the stems and dice the mushrooms. If you are using pre-sliced mushrooms like I did (had them on hand), then simply chop up finely.
  • smash your remaining garlic cloves with the flat side of your knife using the heel of your palm to remove the paper. slice off the root and dice those as well (a little lesson if you’re not use to working with garlic 😉 )
  • Have all of your ingredients ready and waiting to go like this 🙂

  • As soon as your rice is done, heat a large non-stick skillet (if you have a wok use that and know how jealous I am of you!) just under high heat. I use my large cast iron skillet. The whole point of cutting everything small is so that it can cook quickly in the high heat!
  • Crack your eggs into a bowl and whisk with a fork to combine.
  • Add about 1/2 tbs. of canola oil to the pan and swirl to coat.
  • add your eggs and scramble. remove to a plate immediately.

  • wipe the pan with a damp paper towel and return to the heat.
  • add your reserved 1/2 Tbs. of sesame oil and a little extra canola to just coat the pan.
  • Add onions and saute, about 2 minutes, stirring often with a spatula.

  • add pork and saute another 2 minutes.

  • Add peas & mushrooms and saute another 2 minutes.

  • Add cooked rice, garlic and remaining soy sauce (you don’t have to use it all) and ginger and optional rice wine vinegar and cook for another minute.

  • break up the scrambled eggs and mix into rice.
  • remove from heat and enjoy!!!

This dish has SO much flavor and lots of “umami” 🙂 You don’t need to use all of the soy sauce and you may even want to decrease the sesame oil as it’s VERY strong.

The point is you’re getting such a complex meal. This isn’t Chinese take-out rice my friends. No this is genuine good for you! Lots of protein from the pork, peas, eggs and brown rice, not a lot of oil (amounts to about 2 Tbs. total I believe?) and lots of nice fresh taste from the peas, mushrooms and onions. It also smells AMAZING when it cooks, just ask May dog, she was lovin’ it!

Yeah, not happenin pup!

May I note that I have THE ugliest kitchen floor in the country?!?! uhh I apologize for hurting your eyes. When we bought this house almost a year ago the first thing to be re-done was SUPPOSE to be our HIDEOUS kitchen. Yeah, not so much. 😦 super sad face on that. This is why I try to show you as little of my kitchen as possible.

Well I’m working on this, I put in a desperate plea to DYI Network to be on one of their shows so everyone keep your fingers crossed very tightly for me!! 🙂 And go make this dish yourself. You wont regret it and the next time you go to order Chinese take-out you will think twice. 😉

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pork “Fried” Rice

  1. Hey Lindsey! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your pork fried rice sounds awesome.

    • forkl says:

      Well dito! It came out really well this time but I’m always just tweaking it based on my mood. It has never been an actual recipe so I encoruage others to do the same!

Leave a Reply

