Cajun Fish w Red Peppers


TRAINING: 45 minutes on the elliptical (To Be Done)

FOOD JOURNAL:

BREAKFAST: smoothie made with a banana, some 0% plain Chobani, milk, frozen mango and frozen mixed Wyman’s berries.

LUNCH: 1 1/2 cups of light broccoli & cheese soup (frozen leftovers, thank god for ’em) and 1 small Stonyfield Farm yogurt.

DINNER: I’m just not sure! Something with chicken. Possibly chicken stir fry over Quinoa?

Well that was a fun ride to work!

I’ll tell yah, there was NO way I was getting up for my workout this morning. I was comatose. And THEN it was snowing. I didn’t think it was that bad but I left my house a half hour early just in case. Yeah well, fat chance that was going to work.

It took me OVER 2 and a half hours to get to work! I know this may be normal for some with long commutes but 45 minutes is pushing it for me.

Last night was a wash too sadly, although, there was a bright spot!

I was planning to do a big grand Middle Eastern/Mediterranean Feast but there was a MAJOR hitch in my plans… I could not find ground lamb anywhere! Well you can’t make Kibbie and stuffed grapes leaves without lamb so after searching in 3 stores I had to admit defeat and hand dinner over to Matt.

Matt made one of his specialities, Cajun Fish with Red Peppers. Oh my GOODNESS was it yummy! It’s one of my favorites and we hadn’t had it in a while. This is so absurdly simply I scarcely need a recipe.

So this is what you need:

  • 1 large filet of firm mild fish (We always use cod but you could try halibut)
  • 1 large sweet red pepper
  • flour
  • good Cajun seasoning
  • a side (we had it with rice pilaf but it’s very yummy with mashed potatoes as well..and a vegetable of course, green beans usually)

Here is what you do:

  • Heat a large heavy cast iron skillet over medium heat.
  • rinse the fish and pat dry. Cut into entrée sized pieces (usually about 3) and coat in flour mixed with Cajun seasoning (you want a hefty amount of Cajun here)
  • slice the red pepper into thin strips.
  • coat the pan with oil (canola) and saute the pepper strips for a few minutes until soft. remove from pan.
  • re-coat the bottom of the pan with a thin layer of oil. Cook fish in batches (usually you can fit 2 at a time. You don’t want the fish touching) about 3 minutes a side or until the fish is just cooked (sightly firm and it should FLAKE). Be careful to control the temperature so the crust does not burn.
  • Serve immediately topped with red pepper strips, Volia! Very simple, delicious and nutritious as most seafood dishes are.

 

Although the Mediterranean feast was a wash, doesn’t mean I still don’t have plans to make falafel this week 😉 If you have never had it, you MUST try some. It’s super yummy and healthy (as long as you don’t get/make yours deep-fried) and it’s easy to find the mix in most grocery stores these days.

Well, the roads are only threatening to get worse so I’m going to try to escape work early and get home (slowly) to get my workout out of the way. Tomorrow morning is bike training so I need to be in bed early, so as to rise early.

Happy Tuesday!

 

 

 

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cajun Fish w Red Peppers

  1. Kate says:

    It is pretty hard to find lamb in the winter here…unless it comes from New Zealand where it’s springtime-ish right now. It is SO good though…

    • forkl says:

      Uhh right?! Usually, believe it or not, Walmart has it but I looked there, Price Chopper and Big Y which I usually depend on for my less mainstream ingredients. I was SO dissapointed, Matt was convinced Walmart would have it. All of the stores had some type of lamb, just not ground. That was my first thought, that it’s the winter, of course they don’t have any but why the others and not ground?! WHY?! Oh well, guess that meal will be held off for a bit :-/ darn.

Leave a Reply

