Kahlua & Dulce de Leche Bread Pudding


This is going to be a minimalist post as I’ll make for more tomorrow.

Oh do I have a recipe for you my friends!

Yesterday, as I was still so sore from over doing it a bit Saturday morning with THIS (Body Combat, my most FAVORITEST class EVER!), I could barely move BUT I had a cooking plan.

Dinner was one of my super fast and elegant favorites, Cheese Tortellini with Scallops (I had to use shrimp) in a Pesto & Sun Dried Tomato Sauce. SSSOOOO good and I promise to share the recipe some day..but this isn’t what I’m here for.

No, today I will go over my Kahlua & Dulche de Leche Bread Pudding!!

Now if you have never had bread pudding or your only experience is of some unappealing one with raisins and dates (yuck) then let me enlighten you.

I love bread pudding because it’s such a wonderful use for leftover bread. I had a MASSIVE loaf of “italian bread” in the fridge that I had bought at a bakery in Worcester about 2 weeks ago. After trying a slice I found it was much too soft and almost sweet for the planed use I had for it so I kept it in their specifically for this purpose.

Now the key to bread pudding is you want STALE bread. Yes stale. Much like you want brown bananas for banana bread, stale bread makes the best bread pudding because it soaks up all the lovely custard.

Now I had to tweak the recipe I looked up but then again when do I ever leave things alone? The original called for 2 1/4 cups milk and 2 eggs, and 5 cups of cubed bread. Well, I had about 8 cups of cubed bread, maybe even 10 so I worked with the general ratio of 1 cup of milk to 1 egg. I ended up using 4 of each BUT if you have a standard size loaf of bread use less. You can ALWAYS whip up some more custard if you find your bread is still too dry. You want it completely soaked through.

So here is what I ended up with. Tweak at will but these flavors? Oh good lord are they amazing!

Kahlua Dulce de Leche Bread Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 LARGE loaf of stale bread (white or wheat)
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 cups of milk
  • 4 tbs. Kahlua (plus more over the top)
  • 2 tbs. instant espresso powder
  • 1 tbs. cinnamon
  • 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk (I didn’t use 2 I used one but after tasting it, I’m pretty confident in this change)

Instructions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and grease 13×9 glass baking pan.
  • whisk eggs in a large bowl.
  • Add milk and whisk to combine.
  • Add cinnamon, espresso powder, Kahlua and 1 can of sweeten condense milk and whisk to combine.
  • Cube bread into about 1 in squares or smaller.
  • Now you have 2 options here, you can either place the bread cubes into a large bowl and pour the custard over the bread and toss, OR you can use a large bowl to make your custard and then add the bread cubes as you make them and toss to coat. I did the latter.
  • You want to let the bread & custard sit for about 10 minutes so that all of the custard is soaked up, tossing occasionally for even soaking.
  • Pour your (very ugly) mixture into you greased baking dish.
  • Pour the second can of sweetened condensed milk (god do I LOVE this stuff!) over the top of the bread pudding. This will thicken and make a wonderful thick caramel sauce.
  • Sprinkle (place your thumb over the top of the bottle and shake over top) Kahlua over the top of the sweeten condensed milk.
  • Place in oven with a water bath underneath. Fill any pan with side with about 1/2 in of water and place on the rack directly below like so:
  • Bake 40-50 minutes or until center is slightly firm (like a cake. It should be springy).

  • Let cool slightly and serve with French vanilla ice cream. Swoon.

Now bread pudding is such an amazing use for leftovers in your fridge as well. Got brown bananas? Try adding then to the custard and leave out the Kahlua (or use irish cream like Bailey’s) and add double the cinnamon.

You can even make savory bread puddings which are wonderful. Got a bunch of leftovers you aren’t sure what to with? Toss them into the custard with some herbs, leave out the sweetened condensed milk and you have an amazing meal. It’s especially good with breakfast sausage served at brunch.

So there you have it, fast, easy and oh so gooey and yummy. Once you make your first bread pudding and see how easy it is, you’ll be making them all the time.

Today is our Middle Eastern/Mediterranean excursion. Wait till you see what I did tomorrow. 😉 Have a good Monday, hopefully you have it off like me!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

