Oh Friday my old friend :)


TRAINING: 45 minutes on the elliptical and my leg workout which I neglected last night (I DID get my elliptical time in last night though, have no fear!) I added in some new moved I found in the Nov/Dec issue of Health & Fitness Magazine. Some yoga, plyo, cardio fusion. Good stuff if not a tad tricky!

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: Veggie egg-white Flatbread from Dunkin Doughnuts (Matt ate the last banana I had planned for my smoothie >;( he told me next time to write my name on it…don’t tempt me)
  • SNACK: (TBE) a small Low-Fat Stoneyfield Farm organic yogurt!!! (I FOUND them! It’s as if the Gods heard my prayers (or read my blog) and answered them! Oh happy day!!!!)
  • LUNCH: (TBE) I’m still in debate. I was lazy for the second day and plan on making a trip to the cafateria…I’m thinking grilled chicken & roasted red pepper flatbread…but in all honesty I’ll probably end up with a salad like yesterday
  • DINNER: (TBE) Asian Turkey Burgers with Sesame Broccoli Slaw & side salad with Thia Peanut Dressing (confused? let me explain)

Man am I good

I know this sounds conceited but back to back workouts with less than 1o hours in-between isn’t exactly easy. BUT I did it AND I weighted myself this morning…lost very near 2 pounds! (key trumpets) I’m feel quite smug but this is really the holiday weight I gained leaving. My battle is far from over here!

Now I know your confused about dinner. Weren’t Asian Turkey Burgers suppose to be last night? Well, yes but as the ground turkey wasn’t thawed and Matt was becoming increasing cranky over having to get a new phone (as his last one ended up like this:)

BAD Maybelle dog. She’s apparently working on trying to destroy at least $1,000 worth of our possessions within a month. Teething puppy, what can you do?

So Matt was in no mood to make dinner while I went to take a shower. So, we used what we had at our disposal and made steak and cheese wraps with peppers, onions and mushrooms. Whatever, it worked. So TONIGHT we will have Asian Turkey Burgers if it kills me.

Now I know I promised you a recipe for this so I’m going to give you one, and TRY to add pictures tomorrow. Keep in mind I’m pulling this out of a “recipe memory folder” I keep tucked in my head. This folder, well it’s very full and it’s hard to recall everything without actually making it (I find things just come back to me as I make them) so bear with me on this!

Lindsey’s Asian Turkey Burgers with Sesame Broccoli Slaw

Ingredients:

Burgers:

  • 1 Lb. lean organic ground turkey (it’s not all lean so make sure you check!)
  • 3 tbs. low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbs. sesame oil
  • 1-2 tsp. Chinese Five Spice*
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder (or granulated garlic)
  • honey teryaki marinade with sesame (whichever brand you prefer)
  • 6 sesame hamburger buns

Slaw:

  • 1/2 bag of broccoli slaw (can be found in the produce section of most grocery stores, near the bagged salad mixes)
  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 1-2 tbs. sesame oil (you can use 1 tbs. sesame and substitute another mild oil for the rest such as grape seed)
  • 3 tbs. sesame seeds toasted
  • 1 tbs. fresh ginger, peeled and grated (Or dried ginger)
  •  1 tbs. dark brown sugar or honey. You can also add a tablespoon of the marinade.

Instructions:

  • Mix ground turkey and next 4 ingredients together in a bowl. Form into patties (4-6), flatten and set aside NOTE: often ground turkey is VERY soft. It may help to let it sit in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes after mixing to let cool and firm slightly. This will also help the flavors meld and can be mixed a day ahead of time! You can ALSO add an egg to the mixture to help bind it.
  • For the dressing for the slaw, whisk all of the ingredients together, except for broccoli slaw, in a large bowl. Add the broccoli slaw and toss to coat. Set aside.
  • Heat grill or griddle/pan over medium/high heat.
  • place a 1/2 cup of the marinade into a small bowl. brush the tops of the burgers with it and place coated side DOWN onto your grill. Brush the other side (the uncoated side that should now be facing up) with marinade as well.
  • Cook burgers until cooked completely through, about 5-7 minutes per side (The flatter you have made these the faster and more evenly they will cook). Remove from grill when done and let sit for 1-2 minutes.
  • Toast buns slightly. Add burger and top with Sesame Broccoli Slaw. Serve with side salad of baby greens with Thia Peanut Dressing. (P.S. I haven’t tried this dressing recipe but it looked the most promising. I’ll let you know how it turns out!)

Ta-Dah! I know it’s tough without the pictures but it’s actually a very simple dish and I encourage you to tweak it at will!

Oo and one quick note! Might I suggest serving this with my FAVORITE wine Kung Fo Girl Riesling?! It’s a dry riesling with wonderful clean, bright notes of grapefruit. It would go PERFECTLY with these and that’s certainly what I’m planning on having mine with!

*This wine is out of Washington state and increasingly easier and easier to find as it’s gained popularity over the past 2 years I’ve been drinking it. I could never find it before! It’s also a very well priced wine between $14-$11 a bottle. So shop around cause prices vary.

World Market® Chinese Five Spice - Cost Plus World Market*Now a little lesson on Chinese Five Spice to save you from Googleing. I spent a good deal of time tracking this blend down. I hunted through specialty food stores to find one I liked, finally ending up with one I got in Kittery, ME. These can be very varied but often include ginger, clove, star anise, cinnamon and sometimes fennel, cardamom and black pepper.

Sometimes, it’s just the “sweet” spices and it goes VERY well as a substitution for apple pie or pumpkin pie spice. Now I wanted this for more savory uses so the blend I have contains star anise, ginger, clove, star anise, fennel and black pepper. HOWEVER, I also have one that I sometimes use in baked goods of all types that includes cinnamon, ginger, clove, star anise and cardamom (which is one of my favorite secret spices). So the lesson is check the back. You may end up not liking one blend but loving another.

Now for this weekend, I have some very exciting food plans!

There was no way I wasn’t going to take advantage of the long weekend!

I Get ALL of my meat from an organic, grass feed, free range HUMANE kill slaughter-house (nasty word I know) In Athol, MA called Adam’s Farm. Oh. My. GOD is it amazing. ALL of the meat is tender and better tasting than anything you can get in any store. PLUS I stock up, getting a “Make Your Own Package” (click on the retail store link) and it costs me FAR less than anything I can buy in a store (Uhm hello, $8 for chicken beast on Monday? Yeah I don’t think so!) and it all comes individually vacum sealed. It’s the best of all worlds!

I’m COMPLETELY out of chicken breast so I’m taking a little trip (an hours ride but a gorgeous one so I’m not going to complain) up to their amazing farm (with the best view) on Saturday morning and I’m on the hunt for some ground lamb. Why you ask? I’m making either Saturday or Monday, Middle Eastern/Mediterranean Night!

I’m so excited I’ve been craving some lately. There are 2 great restaurants in Worcester that I grew up with (thanks for that Mom!). El Basha is right across from the hospital my mother works at and now I do! They have incredible kibbie, humus, and falafel to die for! Now recently Matt and I found Sahara which is equally good and they make this mint and herb oil that they put on everything that is so wonderful!

So whats on the menu this weekend?

  • Kibbie Cups (I make mine in muffin cups because they are easier to eat and cook)
  • Stuffed Grape Leaves (some people soak these but we found we like Sahara’s better because they are nice and briney)
  • Falafel w/ Tzatziki Yogurt Sauce (mine will be baked not fried, that yogurt sauce is a great use from Chobani!!)
  • Rice Pilaf

That’s it! I’ll try to take lots of pictures so you all can drool all over yourselves. Have a great Friday!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

