Pulled Pork & Black Bean Lime Toastados


TRAINING: NONE (Oh dear)

*BE ADVISED: This will be a recipe heavy blog post! I have a lot to catch up on.

FOOD JOURNAL: hmm do I WANT to tell you? no, but I will anyway.

  • BREAKFAST: Apple Chia Pancakes (recipe of sorts below) with REAL Maple Syrup, 1 egg and 1 1/2 slices of turkey bacon…and ehm, Peppermint Hot Chocolate
  • LUNCH: The last slice of The Wild Cheff’s Game pie (venison, potatoes, herbs oh so yummy) and about 3/4 cup of canned french green beans with italian dressing…oh and 2 Chai snowball cookies I found when cleaning out my box freezer.
  • DINNER: Chobani Chicken & Green Chile Casserole (which I tweaked), some lettuce and black beans & rice…and a FEW Pina Coladas made with V8 Pina Colada juice (which is surprisingly good!)

Boy oh boy did I strike out at the grocery store Tuesday night

As everyone was convinced the earth was ending (giant snow storm. Come on people! This is New England!) my trip to the grocery store Tuesday night was a total miss. The original plan was for Pulled Pork & Black Bean Tostados AND some plantains as I was inspired by this post. However, upon arriving at the grocery store I could not find the following things: plantains, tostados and a few other things I can’t remember now (and I wasn’t about to pay $8 for a lb of chicken breast!). I was pouting in the produce aisle looking in vain for plantains when I spotted some yucca root! Well I’ve never actually cooked with it but I have had it and it’s delish so I thought I would give it a whirl. When I arrived home I put Matt on plantain duty while I got creative breaking hard taco shells in half and assembling my tostados.

Pulled Pork & Black Bean Lime Tostados

Ingredients:

  • Tostados (or hard taco shells broken in half)
  • pulled pork (dry, no BBQ sauce) or *grilled lime chicken
  • black beans
  • green onion chopped
  • can of green chiles (optional)
  • Lime juice (optional)
  • Low Fat Mexican & Pepperjack Cheese

As Matt was peeling this thing (he’s such a good sport) I notice it smelt a little off. We both gave it a big wiff…it was flipping HORSERADISH! I was pissed but Matt was quite joyful about this (a. he didn’t have to figure out how to cook yucca root and b. he loves horseradish) so he cut it into chunks and popped it in the fridge so we can make our own horseradish. Well good thing I had some Uncle Ben’s ready rice around (Sante Fe style) which I added some lime juice, green chiles and the rest of the black beans to.

Problem solved. Next I finished assembling my yummy tostados. Now this recipe originates from one using grilled *lime chicken breast. As it happens, Matt had smoked a pork shoulder the week before so I had leftovers I needed to use but this can easily be done with the lime chicken (simply marinate chicken in lime juice, olive oil, lime zest, cumin, chipotle (if you are so inclined) and salt and pepper. Grill and slice). I started with the black beans..

WHICH I always have to comment look like rabbit poop. Sorry if I killed your appetite :). Moving on!

Next was the amazing pulled pork, green onions and green chilies (which I LURV to death! Esp because they give such great flavor but aren’t spicy in the least)

A squirt of lime juice over the top and Matt shredded some pepperjack cheese for me so I used it and the mexican cheese, topped them off and popped them into a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes, or just until the cheese was nice and melted and the edges were golden brown. I topped each one with a little dollop of sour cream and some homemade guacamole I had in the fridge (highly convenient) and viola!

You’ve got yourself a super yummy 15 minute dinner.

Now Yesterday (Wednesday) Looked like THIS:

My boss had told me on Tuesday in no uncertain terms that I was to stay home Wednesday as I am non-essential personnel (i.e. not a nurse). I’m glad I agreed. This is what it looked like:

I took those pictures at about 7am and boy did it get worse! It was practically snowing snowballs the remainder of the day. I took my beagle outside and she promptly disappearing into the snow. Poor little peanut.

So, basically, this ment yesterday was a wash. I COULD have worked out on my elliptical, but did I? No. This means some serious butt kicking this weekend.

I decided to go all out and make a favorite in our house, Apple Chia Pancakes. Now I usually make these from scratch, using the original Betty Crocker buttermilk pancake recipe. Well we received some Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake/Waffle mix for Christmas so I figured I’d give it a whirl (I did use it right after Christmas and made EggNog pancakes). Now Ployes (which I like to pronounce PLYOS like plyometrics because I’m a loser) is my FAVORITE.

I got introduced to this last year as Matt’s Grandmother gave us some. It’s a Maine thing. It’s buckwheat pancake mix (or crepes if you are of the French-Acanadian variety) but it’s very delicate and does not taste super-duper mealy and strong as most buckwheat pancakes do (a favorite of my Dad’s).

So This recipe is very simple and can be added to your favorite pancake recipe. It works best with more cake-like pancakes than thin, crepe-like ones but it’s yummy either way. Start with the following:

Peel and core the apples, then dice. This helps the apples sort of melt into the pancake batter and soften. I used 2 Cortland apples which was a bit much for the small amount of batter I had.

Make your pancake recipe as usual. Mine called for buttermilk which I never have on hand so I did what I always do, I made some! How you ask? Simple, place a cap full of apple cider vinegar into your milk and it does the trick. Next mix in some Chia spice. I found this at Wal-Mart so I can’t imagine anyone having a hard time finding it but it’s my secret weapon. It goes well in EVERYTHING, oatmeal cookies, pancakes, sugar cookies. It gives it a little umph. I’d say a HEALTHY tablespoon but you can always add more.

Mix in the apples..

I like to make my pancake mix in my favorite large Pyrex glass mixing bowl with a spout. This makes them easier to pour, or you can always use a ladle instead.

Now the trick to making pancakes is NOT to cook them on high. I can never understand why recipes say “heat griddle on high”. Medium, to medium high is where you want to live with pancakes. How do you know when to flip them? They should look like this:

Hey I never said apple chia pancakes made for pretty pancakes but don’t let the blob like shape fool you. Note the bubbles breaking all over the top? And the slightly puffed edges? That says “flip me!”

See? Perfect. Now if you are going to serve these with some crap fake maple syrup wanna be instead of the real stuff, just don’t even bother making them! Real maple syrup, well we take it seriously here in New England. I bought mine at a sugar house a few towns away. Grade B which I actually prefer to grade A.

Ahh, excellent breakfast. Dinner was my take on the Chicken & Green Chile Casserole you see here. I made some tweaks, just a few. That will be in NEXT post.

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in FOOD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

