Now That We Are Caught Up


TRAINING:

  • (TO BE DONE!) 45 minutes on the Elliptical
  • Legs/Lower body (squats, lunges, leg killing wall sits, skaters..the whole shabang!)

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: Kashi Dark Mocha Almond bar
  • SNACK: 1 wedge Laughing Cow light Swiss & about a dozen All-Bran crackers
  • LUNCH: (TBE) I’m thinking salad from the caf topped with a scoop of tuna, cucumbers & red onions….or a cup of chicken vegetable soup, whichever strikes me.
  • DINNER:(TBE) Asian Turkey Burgers with Soy Ginger Coleslaw and side salad with Asian Peanut dressing (I just need to figure this last bit out. Bet you can’t wait for that recipe tomorrow, can you ūüėČ )

Time to catch you up on dinner last night

As we were very much snowed in last night I had to make a few tweaks to the original recipe Cookin Fanatic posted for Chicken & Green Chile Casserole…but I¬†would have done that anyways as I can’t leave recipes alone!

Now this is essentially chicken enchiladas if you look at it. I often make chicken enchiladas but they are more involved and I promise to post my recipe next time I make them. I usually simmer the chicken in green chile enchilada sauce with peppers and onions, strain, shred and mix with other yumminess but lets save that for another time.

Chobani Chicken & Green Chile Casserole (the Lindsey version)

  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1 lb chicken breast poached and shredded (or 2 cans of organic chicken breast in my case)
  • 2 cans of diced green chiles (or 1 of diced jalapenos if you made a mistake like me)
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup
  • 1 container of plain¬†Chobani 0% (WOW was this amazing!)
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika (optional)
  • 1 tsp cumin (optional)
  • 12 corn tortillas (soft)
  • 1/3 block both pepperjack & sharp cheddar cheese shredded

No as there was no way I was going to send Matt out into the storm last night to retrieve chicken breast, I got creative and used 2 cans of organic chicken breast. This stuff is great in an emergency such as this (blizzard).

Chop onions and saute in a small amount of olive oil in a medium pan. Cook until soft and translucent, about 5 minutes.

Add the next 6 ingredients to the hot pot and mix together.

Have you ever had smoked paprika? Oh my goodness is it good! It’s sweet and smoky (obviously) and it lends great flavor to almost anything. The cumin? Well that’s just warm & yummy. And the Chobani? Well, lets just say this super healthy swap for cream cheese makes this recipe¬†amazingly creamy and tangy. I’m totally using it wherever possible from now on.

Meanwhile spray bottom and sides of baking dish (I used a rectangular one) and add one layer of corn tortillas.

I had to cut the 4th one on each layer in half so as to make it fit better. I ALSO ran the bottom layer only of the corn tortillas under water for a second. I was worried about them becoming hard instead of soft so I wanted to make sure they had enough moisture.

Next place a 1/3 of your chicken Chobani mixture and spread out evenly.

Now I’d like to tell you a funny story. Somewhere along the line of stocking up on canned green chiles because¬†I love them¬†so very much, I had picked up a can of diced jalapenos. Now when I opened the can I didn’t pick up on this as the cans were two different brands so I though one was simply more mushy than the other.. I did notice however, as¬†I was pouring them¬†into my mixture. (uhm yeah, too late!)¬†Needless to say this casserole was VERY spicy for my taste but then again I’m a wimp. So if you want it spicy, add jalapenos, if not, then leave them out!

OK, moving on..Next add 1/3 of the cheeses that you have shredded.

Repeat this process 2 more times and finish with you layer of cheese.

The original recipe calls to bake this at 350 for 30 minutes. Again, can I leave anything alone? No. So I covered mine with tin foil (to make sure the corn tortillas steamed and got nice and soft) and baked it at 400 for about 15 minutes, then and extra 10 uncovered.

It looked, like this

Mmmm. Holy cheesapalooza!

I served it alongside some rice and beans and I like¬†to eat mine with baby greens. It gives a nice contrast to the richness. In FACT, I found it rather funny that Matt said “I’m not sure how much of this I can eat, it’s so rich. That’s a lot of dairy.” I felt rather smug pointing out that all that rich creamy goodness was courtesy¬†of Chobani 0%! He had seconds ūüôā

All told I’d definitely make this again. MUCH easier than filling enchiladas one by one and I will never go back to using cream cheese again after using the Chobani. It’s such a healthy swap, what a no brainer!

 This dish is like, lasagna style enchiladas! Thanks to the Cookin Fanatic for the recipe and I now have yet ANOTHER reason to love my Cho!

Now dinner tonight¬†is a¬†Lindsey creation ;), one I’m¬†very¬†proud of but as tonight is kind of a¬†hectic one (what with picking up my parents stupid cat at the vet and fitting in my workout & shower) Matt will be on dinner duty. This recipe is sooo yummy so make sure you stop by tomorrow and check it out. NOT to be missed!

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now That We Are Caught Up

  1. I love this post! You did such a fabulous job really amping up the dish too, LOVE the addition of the smoked paprika and cumin – yummm! Swapping out Cho for cream cheese & sour cream is so awesome isn’t it? ūüôā Hope you are staying warm in all the snow!

  2. forkl says:

    Thanks Stephanie! It is such a great recipe thanks for sharing it! I think the pepperjack cheese adds a little somthin’ extra to it too. It was quite spicy though let me tell you! Matt loved it but I was fanning my mouth a bit haha you’ve got to try my Asian Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw that I’m posting tomorrow. It is not to be missed! It’ll just have to go no the end of your very long to make list is all ūüėČ

Leave a Reply

