Time to Tweak Things a Bit & The “Wild Cheff”


TRAINING:

  • (to be done) 45 minutes on the elliptical
  • upper body weights

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: Kashi Trail Mix Bar (Mmm)
  • SNACK (TBE): Grapes (finally found some good ones that pass the “squeeze test”!)
  • LUNCH (TBE): My famous Joseph’s Wrap Bean Burrito (I will include instructions for this later..)
  • SNACK (TBE): low-fat pudding
  • DINNER (TBE): Turkey Meatballs over Barilla Plus Pasta and Mushroom Tomato Sauce (quick dinner as I have to work out TONIGHT)

Change of Plans

OK so I realize now that my plan needs some tweaking. Does this mean I’m giving up? Oh far from it! I was very good last week, Friday night I did my workout upon arriving home as planned and we had grilled garlic and applewood smoke shrimp (sooo yummy I’ll let you guys in on the secret to this some day 🙂 ), grilled asparagus and a packet of Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice plain brown rice. Have you seen these things? Whole Grain BrownI LOVE them. They are one of my favorite secret weapons. I usually keep a few packets of these around as they go great for a quick fish dinner especially. Brown & Wild, Brown Rice & Harvest Vegetable and just plain brown rice are big in our house. I took the left overs and cut them up and mixed them all together and had it for lunch yesterday. Mmm! It was like a super fast and healthy stir-fry. I often use the brown rice and mix it with sautéed peppers & onions, cumin & chipotle pepper, lime juice and black beans for a super quick and easy brown rice and beans. Anyway, moving on.

My gym keeps changing their morning class schedule which has me having minor, personal temper tantrums. So I’m changing my plan and my rules a little bit. These are the new suggest GUIDELINES for now. Getting myself back in shape is key at the moment. As I get closer to my proposed goals (The 5Ks and the tri) I will need a MUCH more stringent plan for sure but here’s what I have for now:

  • Monday: Running/Elliptical & Upper Body Weights (can be done at home or at the gym)
  • Tuesday: Bike (45 minutes-1 hour) gym
  • Wednesday: Running/Elliptical & Lower Body Weights (This really SHOULD be done at the gym)
  • Thursday: Body Combat (5:15am class)
  • Friday: Bike (45 minutes -1 hour) gym
  • Saturday: free day (but of course the dog will need to go for a hike so I must oblige)
  • Sunday: Running/Elliptical & Core (which means I can do yoga. In all honesty this will probably be done at home as the thought of driving to the gym on a Sunday just makes me depressed)

There are a few keys rules here: I MUST get a workout in on that day and I must aim for the morning. This is purely for sanity reasons but if say, tonight for example, I went to bed late last night so my workout is planned for tonight when I get home. The key is to make sure I don’t back out! Also if I want to say, take a class instead, perfectly fine, it’s a better workout anyway.

Now for some REALLY exciting food news! 🙂

Saturday afternoon I spent with New England’s own “Wild Cheff” Denny Corriveau! If you have never heard of him, you need to check out his website www.wildcheff.com asap. He takes game meat and turns it into the most amazing culinary experiences ever. Matt & I were introduced to him after taking a cooking class he taught at Stonewall Kitchen in Maine. I got his newsletter, started to email him, and he saw what I could do. He also saw my passion for game (although I couldn’t possibly ever hunt as I am a major hypocrite but Matt does), organic foods, cooking and foraging. He wanted to meet with both Matt & I and discuss my joining the Wild Cheff team. It is after all, good for women to learn how to cook from women as we relate better (this is the theory).

We spent the afternoon doing a wine tasting at the most amazing winery Jewell Towne Vineyards. EVERYTHING I had was superb but the Tradition Marechal Foch (which you may have never even heard of as it’s a cold weather thriving grape) was the only red wine I have ever really LOVED! No sulfates so it makes you feel great not crappy.

Then we had some antipasto that was given the most amazing kick from Denny’s line of infused olive oils. The lemon olive oil over the artichokes was amazing. Bright and clean. The blood orange over the patee and the mozzarella was SUCH a great contrast.

Dinner was quail with an applejack sauce over pureed celery root and butternut squash tortellini. Have you ever had celery root? It’s wonderful. Sweet and bright and oh so yummy with cream 😉 For the quail he sliced the tiny quail breast in half, coated them in almond meal and I wasn’t sure what else (I was busy cutting celery root and stuffing my face with patee) and then pan fried them in a small amount of oil. The applejack sauce was diced apples, applejack brandy and cream as far as I could tell, finished off with the signature Wild Cheff Sagebrush blend (this one is my FAVORITE. It’s great on any type of poultry). It was one of the best meals I have ever eaten and I cannot WAIT to start working with him! He also let me try his new porcini mushroom oil. My god, being a HUGE mushroom lover, I cannot even begin to tell you what this was like. It was warm and earthy and I was literally eating it out my palm.

I’m going to do some shameless plugging here. I only “endorse” things I truly believe in and use myself. His spice products I cannot say enough about. They are not the crap you find on grocery store shelves made with loads of salt & sodium, powdered, unrecognizable junk and stale herbs. No you put your nose in these jars and you get bombarded with greatness people! There are huge chunks of recognizable herbs and spices and their uses are endless, as they are oh so perfectly blended. The oils? Well I would have been drinking them if I thought I could get away with it. and if you have ever cooked game, you know it’s a whole different ballgame. This is why his recipes are unmatched. Yes, go do some research my friends, take a “risk” and get one of his products, he even has sample packets (I highly recommend the sagebrush and the Tuscan sausage blend with big chunks of dried shallots and pine nuts) and you will not be disappointed!

Tonight’s dinner is quick and easy, turkey meatballs over Barilla Plus pasta (I often find this to be the best nutritional bet when comparing labels, calories, carbohydrates, fats, fiber and all that important stuff) and some nice mushroom tomato sauce. Mmm. good for finishing watching Wall Street (the original) tonight 😉 Manga.

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

