Can I get a break please?!


TRAINING:

  • 45 min. on the elliptical (I pushed myself hard, in 10 minute increments I spend the first 6 minutes at a good clip, then 2 upped the resistant up and went backwards, then another 2 minutes forwards but as high a resistance as I could go. Phew, good workout!)
  • 3 sets of 15 push ups (triceps and regular, pausing at the bottom)
  • 2 sets of 20 crunches on the ball (bicycle sit ups, not so easy on the ball mind you)

FOOD JOURNAL:

  • BREAKFAST: Dark Mocha Almond Kashi Bar (ohhh so good!)
  • SNACK (TBE): 1 cup chocolate Tru Moo (1% milk) that I plan on having in an hour for a snack (I’m on a chocolate theme today apparently)
  • LUNCH (TBE): 1 cup of my light Broccoli & Cheese Soup (whats left of my stash that’s not in the freezer for a later date), 1/2 of a spinach pie made with bread not Phylo that I snatched at the market yesterday & 1 clementine
  • SNACK (TBE): 18 All-Bran crackers and 1 wedge Laughing Cow light cheese
  • DINNER (TBE): 1 (of the best) Margarita(s) (tequila, lemon juice and agava. Simple and perfect) and who knows but I can PROMISE I will be having house guacamole at Mezcal tonight for girls night, possible by myself (first cheat meal of the week, good)

YESTERDAY= DAY FROM HELL…but then there’s always Chorizo & Soft Boiled Egg salad to fix things

After a bad start yesterday my day only proceeded to get worse. Upon leaving work the following things happened:

  • I got stuck forever at Wal-Mart, which I hate (yet shop there anyways cause it’s on the way home and thusly convenient) for the following 2 reasons:                        1. They do not carry a lot of the things I like (mainly Chobani & All-Bran cracker..carless jerks)  2. They NEVER EVER, no matter what Wal-Mart you go to in the country, have enough checkouts open. EVER!
  • Came home to find my lovely little adorable beagle had used my $400 glasses as a chew toy, rendering them as such:

….After yelling a little (and trying VERY hard not to cry) I had to lay down on the bed for about 10 minutes staring at the ceiling while one of the cats lay on my chest staring into my face wondering what my issue was. Matt had to direct the dog away (she didn’t know what she had done) telling her she needed to stay away from Mommy for a little bit cause she was a little upset and wasn’t quite ready to forgive her.

  • I EXPLODED an egg in the microwave. Have you ever done this? It sticks to everything and coats every possible surface. All cause I didn’t think the soft-boiled eggs were cooked enough. Better left alone.
  • I dropped a few containers of pudding on the ground which prompted one of those to explode as well. Matt then ask me what the hell I thought I was doing as I had proven to be a disaster zone for the day and to sit down.

Because I am a very poised and calm person (HAH!) I did not run and make myself a very strong drink and proceed to chug it. Nor did I finish off a pint of ice cream. Why? Because we had Chorizo & Soft Boiled Egg Salad for dinner! Duh! AND I made myself one of our favorite “cocktails”: Equal parts of the following:

Now, what you have all been waiting for, the pieece de resistance The recipe for Chorizo & Soft Boiled Egg Salad with Sour Dough Croutons! (YAYYY! Hold your applause please)

Now this is Matt’s speciality. He found it, he makes most of it, he gets credit although I now do some of the prep work and hunting down of the chorizo. The recipe was found online  but we have tweaked it as such:

CHORIZO & SOFT BOILED EGG SALAD WITH SOURDOUGH CROUTONS

INGREDIENTS: (for 2)

  • Mixed Greens (I like the 50/50 blend baby spinach & spring mix although the original recipe calls for “rocket” which is essentially arugula)
  • Cured Chorizo (this comes in all varieties, some cured, some raw but you want nice hard, cured chorizo. think good salami or pepperoni which would also work)
  • 4 eggs (good quality)
  • Loaf of Sourdough Bread (Cut into large slices, about 4. The original recipe doesn’t call for sourdough, nor did I use sourdough last night as I could not find any but it is the best. A good loaf of italian or french bread works well)
  • Machego Cheese sliced very thin (SUPER yummy & nutty spanish cheese that’s often hard to find and very expensive (I Love Ed Hyder’s for this) but a good hard nutty cheese like parmesan will do, In fact that’s what I used last night. Just shave it right off the block with a vegetable peeler)
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Lemon Juice
  • Olive Oil
  • salt & pepper

 

  • You will be grilling things here so go turn your grill on and get a small pot filled with water boiling on the stove (this is a quick dinner!).
  • THINLY slice the chorizo (I found mine at D’Errico’s Market in Worcester. A lot of ethnic markets have this, the stuff you tend to find in the grocery store is raw, although I’ve had good luck at Whole Foods). If it’s a thick piece of chorizo simple slice down, if it’s small like mine were than cut diagonally for bigger surface area.

 

  • brush some olive oil onto the bread slices and salt & pepper them lightly (go easy on the olive oil as well). Place both on a plate and bring to your grill.
  • Place eggs in pan of boiling water GENTLY easing them in with a spoon. Cook for 5-6 minutes. We originally did them for 5 and they came out perfectly but the last 2 times they did not (hence me placing one in the microwave and it blowing up, never do so while in the shell and alway cover it! my mistake! I did successfully do this (after cleaning out the microwave which took a long time) by cracking an egg in a small bowl with a little water in it and covering it with a paper towel and cooking it in 15 second intervals until it was done (about 2 intervals)) Drain the eggs immediately and fill pan in sink with cold water and leave for a few minutes.
  • grill the chorizo on medium for about 5-10 minutes, turning once until they are browned and a little crispy. Depending on how thinly you sliced them, your cooking time will vary. You want to do this on a grill pan such as this:

Add the bread and grill until toasted.

  • thinly slice cheese or use vegetable peeler. 
  • Whisk together equal parts mustard & olive oil to make dressing (about a 1/4 cup each I’d say) and add about 2 Tbs. lemon juice and whisk to emulsify.
  • Cut bread into croutons. Arrange greens on plate, drizzle with dressing and then top with chorizo, croutons and cheese. Shell eggs and break in half, placing 2 on each salad (the yolk should be runny, it mixes with the dressing and helps make it thick and yummy!)
  • ENJOY and be amazed! (we made this as entrée salads but this can be lessened and made as a salad course. Very easy but super elegant and impressive. VIOLA! Bon Appetit!)

Now tonight is the true test, girls night out which I need after yesterday. First cheat meal of the week and I plan to use it well 🙂

About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can I get a break please?!

  1. Kate says:

    Linds you better have the guac at Mezcal. If that’s the only thing you eat there it’s even worth it. I drank a pitcher of margs there once.

    (I’m doing weight watchers currently with limited physical activity because I sprained my back after Thanksgiving.)

    PS- YOU’RE DOING GREAT. Keep up the good work!!

    • forkl says:

      THanks Kate! I agree, everything else there is overpriced but the house guac and the house margs are the BEST! Plus they are cheap. I may just order guacamole and eat it all alone.
      I’m trying very hard to be consistent. My training plan needs some tweaking obviously but I figure as long as I get my exercise in and maintain a healthy enough diet I’m good. I’m a few months away so it will need to be more precise as I get closer to the 5Ks thats for sure, but I’m easing my way in now.

      P.S. are you going to make my salad? I think you should 😉

  2. Kate says:

    Actually I am! I LOVE chorizo so I am sure it will be a fabulous meal!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I definitely need to try this salad very very soon!!!! 🙂

    • forkl says:

      Well thanks Stephanie! I wish I could take all the credit but the man dosen’t like me being better at something than he is so he had to show me up. Well you make this and I’ll make your Green Chile Chicken Cassarole tomorrow during my snow day (hehe) and we’ll call it even steven! 😉

Leave a Reply

