DAY 1


TRAINING:

  • 30 min. long bike (various speeds and resistances)
  • 15 min. tall bike (7, steady)
  • 10 minute stretching/cool down on ball

IN THE BEGINNING…

Uhh. I know (or at least I tell myself) that the first 2 weeks of 4:30am wake ups are the worst. I know this is a lie but I tell it to myself anyway. This morning wasn’t SO bad although it’s frightening to think that I JUST started work and I’ve already been up for nearly 4 hours.

I had strange tangled dreams last night. It’s like the excitement before you start a new job or take a fun trip, your body is so poised and ready for the new thing that you hardly need your normal amount of sleep and you sleep restlessly only to bounce out of bed right before your alarm goes off. I found myself laying in bed on my back, somewhere between sleeping and waking wondering when it would.

This is good in a way as it was easy to get up. However, I know this will NOT be the case tomorrow.

This whole thing takes a LOT of preparation as I had forgotten. I spent nearly an hour and a half last night getting things ready for today; my lunch, my gym bag, my shower bag, my outfit for work. Matt(my boyfriend whom I have a house with) and Maybelle (our dog) sat on the couch and watched this all with mild curiosity. This morning apparently the animals did not notice that Mommy (me) was up an extra hour and a half early and proceeded to bounce around the house, the dog popping in and out of the room to bring me her toys (how nice). I usually bring her outside immediately upon waking and then feed her. Matt was responsible for this morning when he got home so lets hope that went smoothly.

Workout went great though. It felt pretty awesome to really work my legs (although I was sure complain politely to the girl on duty about wanting my RPM class back). After spending nearly the entire afternoon on Sunday updating my iPod and making workout play lists (cardio, weights, cool down) I remembered the iPod but somehow misplaced my headphones. So no iPod just a trashy tabloid magazine (the junk food of reading) and I was a happy camper.

I did the long bike for 45 minutes varying between fast bursts with little resistant (5), regular pace (7) and then thigh burning pushes with high resistance (12). Then the tall bike was just a normal pace for 15min as I didn’t like the way the pedals moved (I’m picky, so shoot me).

BETTER PREPARED

So I know one of my rules was to plan ahead and be prepared but I realized I was not so prepared when it came to food.  Since waking I have consumed the following things:

  • 1 slice light oatmeal bread with 1 Tbs. Teddie’s Peanut Butter (pre workout fuel. Good. Check)
  • 1 small slice cheddar cheese and half an apple (the other half was yucky looking so I stayed away) (need fat and protein and good carbs after workout. Check)
  • 1/4 of a Kashi Pumpkin granola bar (mmm. Love the lovely pumpkin)(was still hungry so ate best thing I could find at my desk. so far so good)

As I am bound and determined to keep on track (I think I have done rather well having patched together a menu out of randoms found around my house last night)  the rest of my food for the day is as follows:

  • Homemade pea soup made with carrots, onions, peas, chicken broth and ham bone (no actual ham in my soup, I think Matt got it all)
  • 1 wedge Laughing Cow cheese and 18 (this is a serving size, I checked) All-Bran crackers
  • Dinner is up for debate (grilled shrimp dinner possibly?)

I would like to make 2 important points here:

1. ALWAYS make your own soup! Unless you want to die (I may be exaggerating here) of sodium overload do not consume canned soup unless under dire straits (good band BTW). I in fact broke out my favorite cook book last night (well technically it’s Matt’s but he doesn’t mind); The Cooking Light Soup Cookbook. I love soup because it can be so healthy, it’s super easy to make and hard to mess up and it’s filling. Eating a sad cold sandwich is depressing at times but soup? No soup is always lovely and warm and makes you feel like your eating a real meal. Plus it freezes well in individual servings. (major bonus)

I took some left over broccoli I had (I went a little overboard on buying it over the weekend) and made the light Broccoli and Cheese Soup which does NOT taste light. It’s so yummy and I recommend it SO much I have included the recipe here (also on my recipes page). The only thing to note is that anything that’s dairy based doesn’t freeze so beautifully. It often separates. This doesn’t stop me from doing it though, it’s more of an appearance.

2.All-Bran crackers are probably one of the best things I have ever found. The Garlic Herb crackers with Laughing Cow cheese is so perfect. It’s fiber and protein and yes carbs but good ones. Best. Snack. EVER.

I have no idea what is for dinner. I’m thinking grilled shrimp and roasted asparagus with brown rice. But who knows.

COOKING LIGHT’S BROCCOLI & CHEESE SOUP

I often add shredded carrots to this as well as I’m always looking to add more veggies and flavor. I also make this with fresh broccoli as I did last night but frozen broccoli is just as yummy and easy.

Total: 33 minutes
Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cups)

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 1  cup  chopped onion
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 3  cups  fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1  (16-ounce) package broccoli florets
  • 2 1/2  cups  2% reduced-fat milk
  • 1/3  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 8  ounces  light processed cheese, cubed (such as Velveeta Light)

Preparation

Heat a large nonstick saucepan coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 3 minutes or until tender. Add broth and broccoli. Bring broccoli mixture to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium; cook 10 minutes.

Combine milk and flour, stirring with a whisk until well blended. Add milk mixture to broccoli mixture. Cook 5 minutes or until slightly thick, stirring constantly. Stir in pepper. Remove from heat; add cheese, stirring until cheese melts.

Place one-third of the soup in a blender or food processor, and process until smooth. Return pureed soup mixture to pan.

Nutritional Information

Calories:
203 (28% from fat)
Fat:
6.3g (sat 4g,mono 1.8g,poly 0.4g)
Protein:
15.6g
Carbohydrate:
21.7g
Fiber:
2.9g
Cholesterol:
24mg
Iron:
1.2mg
Sodium:
897mg
Calcium:
385mg

Cooking Light, JANUARY 2002
About Lindsey @ trail to train

I'm a (somewhat) normal girl with slightly unusal ideas about everything. I do fitness my way because thats the only way I know how and my extensive mishmashed knowledge of food and cooking to make great, fast, healthy meals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

